Popayan


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Popayan
February 21st 2009
Published: March 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me with the girlsMe with the girlsMe with the girls

Cheesy smiles all round!
I thought I would be looking forward to getting back to a city again after a good stint in the country but to be honest if I can have the chice of being woken up by cows mooing or big horrible trucks going past my window at 5am I know which one I will choose.

The girls and I were obviously very happy to get to Popayan and get off the bus from hell!! We checked into a hostel full of priomise called Hostel Trail. It was set up by a couple who had initiated a website connecting all of the hostels together across south america and on their travels they ended up in Popayan and realised the need for more hostels. It was a lovely place and I'm amost ashamed to say that the thing that was most alluring to us on that first night was the fact that there was a tv room. After a quick bite to eat we all got changed into our PJs, grabbed blankets from our beds and really enjoyed sitting and watching a movie. I have hardly watched no tv at all since I have been away and don't normally miss it. You
Street PerformanceStreet PerformanceStreet Performance

Basically a group of young guys all get together on the street, dress in white and do this mad dancing which looks a bit like a mixture between martial arts and break dancing but never touch each other. It goes on for ages and they always have 2 people in the middle but one person cuts the other on off when they get the chance. It is mind blowing.
have so much stimulation day and night that it is not at all necessary but every now and then it is so so so nice!!

It rained the following day and so we thought that was a great reason to get back to the hostel and have an afternoon watching more movies but unfortunately that day the builders (who were supposed to come a week before) arrived and dismanteled our lovely tv room as they were in the process of building a bigger one upstairs. We were devestated!! I guess if that is all you have to be devasted about though life is not bad!!

Instead we ended up making a huge salad, drinking a nice few bottles of wine and going to the local fairground. We ate more food and then got on rides which shook us up and down and screaming upside down!! Great fun!

Popayan is a nice city. I had some great food experiences there (Ilse and Miriam were not quite as lucky) and again all of the people we met were lovely. The people in colombia are really really nice!!

Next day I did the luxurious thing as a backpacker and took a taxi to the airport and flew via Bogota to Cartagena (only $120 via Avianca - would cost almost as much on bus and prob take about 30 hours). I was very much looking forward to the warmth and sunshine of the Caribean Coast but sad to leave my girls!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

MiriamMiriam
Miriam

Frightened to death on one of the rides
Riding at the funfareRiding at the funfare
Riding at the funfare

Ilsa and I made it on this one but Miriam (maybe sensibly) got off before it started. Luckily I am alive to tell the tale.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb