Medellin 2013 #4 (Fincas)


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
November 15th 2013
Published: November 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After a week or so of city life I decided to explore an area on the other side of the mountains. The countryside of Antioquia is where many families in Medellin have a vacation house or “finca”. The ones I saw from the highway came in all economic strata. Some are very humble and others like fine homes. The area around Rio Negro is where I made my first foray outside the city limits. The route my private car and driver took did not go past many farms. I saw mostly fincas and some ranches with horses and cows. The cows seemed more the dairy type than the beef type. The countryside was stunning with green hills and mountainsides shaded by trees I did not recognize. I hope to learn more about the plant life found here in my future trips. We also quickly passed a new hospital. Did not get the best picture of it but from the outside looked modern and most likely a 200 bed facility.



Many stretches of highway had family restaurants with various themes. Similar to rest stops with gift shops, eateries and kids play areas. Parilla (grilled meats) and Antioquian food (local cuisine) predominated what I saw. Exploring on a Saturday many of them were doing brisk business. One of these I was able to find recommendations on due to the fact it was featured on “No Reservations”, a food show with Anthony Bourdain. I watch the show so needless to say if Anthony stopped by to partake I certainly was going to give it a go. I was not disappointed in “Queareparaenamorarte”. The name Queareparaenamorarte roughly translates into, "what do I have to do to make you love me?". It has an open kitchen setup with rural themed furnishing, very rancho feeling to the place. As I walked in, the food being prepared I could smell like an aroma in the air. My mouth was watering before I even sat down. This does happen more than I would care to admit. I may have a problem. Anyway, after seeing the grill I ordered the mega parilla plate and it was incredible. Beef, chicken, chorizo, chicharrons and a type of blood sausage was accompanied by potatoes and of course arepas. The empanadas plate was the appetizer and was delicious with four different salsas. I hope to return one day but with so many interesting places to fill up my belly it could take awhile.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.118s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb