Medellin 2013 #5 (Salsa Class)


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
November 17th 2013
Published: November 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have struggled on whether to share this topic with everyone. You see I decided to purchase private salsa lessons during my time in Medellin. Cali style salsa is popular here and is a form of salsa I have little exposure to. It looks wonderful when performed by those who know it and “feel” it. Others like myself, look like chickens prancing around the barn yard. Hence, my dilemma on sharing video of my early attempts at the local variety of the dance.

I found a dance studio recommended by several sources in my neighborhood of Poblado. It’s called “Santo Baile” and the owner/instructor is Mayra Cutiva. She is a professional dancer and is from Cali. In the beginning I thought it would be difficult to concentrate around her (I wonder why?) but she has developed the right skills for dance instruction. She is a sweetheart to be around and allows you to develop at your own pace. Private instruction I think helps a lot and as in most things in Colombia is very affordable in comparison to the states. I used my time during class to both learn salsa and get some aerobic exercise. Most of the meals I have described earlier in this blog have come after dance class.

Several people, who will go nameless, have reminded me of my promise to place the incriminating evidence on my blog. I finally summoned the courage to do so after editing some of the video. It was quite boring in my opinion but some of you may find value in it. Please, no comments, my confidence is already delicate on this subject.





Not wanting to tarnish the honor of Cali style Salsa I have included what the dance should look like when performed by a couple who have a well rounded knowledge of the moves. If you look closely the female in the video is my instructor.

Enjoy.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb