SANTA FE DE ANTIOQUIA


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
November 21st 2006
Published: November 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

village tour village tour village tour

a coach ride for only 15.000 $
My third trip to Santa Fe was basically pretty much the same as the previous ones from the touristic point of view- travelled 80 km north from Medellin, roughly one hour to get to a land with about 30ยบ C, at only about 50 m above see level. Kind of reminded me of Santa Marta and it wasn't good at all. As much as I love Colombia, I guess SM will always be a trauma for me and it will be difficult to get over it. Nice 5 hours spent there on Sunday afternoon in very nice company- Samuel (Switzerland), Ranko (Holland)- trainees like me with AIESEC, Caro, Camilo ( Sweden)- my classmate in Spanish and a Colombian buddy of theirs.

The baroque architecture of the Santa Barbara church and the colonial little houses impress me every time I see them. We went to Puente del Occidente again, this time crossing it by motor-taxi, this strange little motorcycle with a 3 place tiny car in the back, which can go as fast as 70 km/h. We also had a ride in a carriage and had a a tour of the village, taking photos and enjoying some ice-cream.

As always,I've got many thoughts, wanna do so much and am only one!😞( If only there could be more Monas at the same time!!😊), yes, I would sign up for human cloning, if it meant having 10 twins and I could be in 10 different counties and do 10 different things at the same time. Yes, I know, cloning is not about that, I'm not stupid, it was just a thought...

Note Samuel has a very different perspective on Colombian optimism. He says that this optimism we find in the Colombian culture (and I so much adore! ) is also the reason why the country doesn't really move forward, as everything goes here and the total lack of criticism can sometimes equal to a real lack of interest , as criticism can be constructive and lead to improvement. Colombian people don't take criticism well, he says... I guess this optimism thing has its downside...

Enjoy the pictures from Santa Fe, I have exactly one month left here, not that much money to travel and a lot of thinking to do about my plans for next year.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

village tour village tour
village tour

a coach ride for only 15.000 $
rainbowrainbow
rainbow

breath-taking rainbow, absolutely gorgeous!!!
SANTA BARBARA CHURCHSANTA BARBARA CHURCH
SANTA BARBARA CHURCH

inside the church
having lunch in a traditinal househaving lunch in a traditinal house
having lunch in a traditinal house

a 5000 $ lunch, deliciously cooked :)
love is in the air...love is in the air...
love is in the air...

Ranko, Holland and Caro, my Colombian twin.
puente del Occidentepuente del Occidente
puente del Occidente

took photos here only about 3 weeks ago :)
puente del Occidentepuente del Occidente
puente del Occidente

took photos here only about 3 weeks ago :)
village fountainvillage fountain
village fountain

every single village has a fountain in the squre, usually across from the church. Here, me and Camilo.
transportation to Puente del Orientetransportation to Puente del Oriente
transportation to Puente del Oriente

felt pretty safe speeding up on that tiny 3 place motor-car, dancing reggeton !! yeah :))


21st November 2006

just a short comment to say hi and "yeah, somebody is still reading your blog entries and finding them interesting" :-) kisses from denmark (unfortunately not on a cool holiday, but just for a week of work...)
23rd November 2006

adore your blogs 'n pix!

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb