Dating on the Party Bus


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
January 28th 2017
Published: February 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

I dance ok; however, the entire nation of Colombia shakes like Shakira. The average Colombian dances in grocery stores, at the office, and apparently on party buses called Chivas. So when Helena invited me to go dancing all night with her cousins I said “yes..?”

Chivas move at a pace of 10 miles per hour through town blasting Latin music. The goal is to hold on to something, take many shots of aguardiente, and try to dance. Tall people can expect to bump their head on the rafters. Keep dancing. Another party bus may pull alongside yours. Keep dancing. It’s cold in Bogota so they only way you can stay warm is to keep dancing.

We drive and dance up a windy mountainside until we are at a small bar above the city. The view is amazing stretching out the lights of 9 million residents below. Tiny skyscrapers rise like watch towers over a restless population; I take 3 breathes to enjoy it then family and myself head inside to dance more. I was exhausted from hitting my lifetime limit of booty shaking, but no matter the view or how tired my feet became… keep dancing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb