Surprises Around Every Corner


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
January 6th 2009
Published: January 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's safe to say that today was not what I expected. I woke up at 8:30 and got ready, and of course Diego's mom insisted that I sit down and eat the cereal I was going to take out the door. I waited on the street for an hour to find out Mauricio was running late. Went back to the house for another 10 minutes before we finally got on our way. It as me, Mauricio, Leonardo, and Nadia. I was under the impression that we were on our way to the place for paragliding, but I was getting the sneaking suspicion that we weren't actually going there.

Finally I found out we were going to Panaca Sabana, the animal farm park. I was little upset and disappointed, but I wasn't going to let that ruin my day. Besides, I still had a few more days to go paragliding, right? Spend the rest of the afternoon playing with piglets, goats, and the rest of the gang. Saw a pig show/race where the hosts free-styled and made fun of people in the crowd. All three of my companions got singled out, but not me. We also saw a horse show that was kind of interesting. The wranglers basically flipped all over the horse as it rode around the ring. One guy was supposed to ride by and grab his hat, but he was never really able to pull it off. I also at at El Corral again, and got mayonnaise when I asked for none. I don't know if Mauricio didn't understand me, or Colombians in general don't understand, because they all seem to love it. They dip their fries in it....I also asked for a double "con queso" thinking it would be a cheeseburger. I was surprised to find that it came with a cup of queso sauce on the side. Apparently there is no difference between hamburgers and cheeseburgers, so a regular burger already comes with cheese on it. You can just have queso as well.

I tried to ask Mauricio about the paragliding without sounding pushy, and he said he just needed to call the guy, but he told me Sunday had already had. I late found out that he and his family were leaving for La Vega for a few days tomorrow as well. I don't know if Mauricio was just oblivious or straight up lying to me, but I'm giving him the benefit of the doubt. I guess I won't see him again before I leave, which sucks because we didn't really say goodbye.

Anyway that was pretty much my day. Come back, and Diego and I watched Seven Pounds on DVD. Funny, I know. Also found out that I'm not going to the rehab farm tomorrow. I was supposed to go with Phillipe, but he needs to stay a whole week and work, so I would have no way of getting back Saturday for my flight. It's actually a blessing because they were talking about me staying up there until Friday afternoon, which I really didn't want. Maybe a day, but not two and a half. So who knows what tomorrow holds. I am really trying to let God use this situation to teach me to be thankful for what I have and have done, rather than complain about what I don't have and haven't done.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb