Roll-in' with tha Hom-ies


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
January 5th 2009
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

There is a little yappie dog barking his head off right outside my window. He better hope he's done squealing by the time I finish this journal entry. So at 8 am, I awake to Diego telling me that Leonardo will be picking me up at 10:30, so much for sleeping in. Once I had fallen back to sleep Diego's mom came and proceed to tell me something in Spanish, which I took to be I'm leaving. I wake up again at 9:30 only to find her still there. Oh well, I guess I don't understand as much as I think. I get ready and find a lukewarm breakfast waiting for me downstairs. I told Diego to tell his mom she didn't need to cook for me. I make sure to eat it all before heading out to wait for Leonardo on teh side of the street.

He is in the passenger seat, and driving the car is Phillipe (whose name I didn't know until the end of the night). Phillipe is from Bogota, but goes to Bible college in Argentina, and he speaks great English. Thank goodness. I hit it off right away with Phillipe, and we had some really good conversations throughout the day. First we make our way downtown, to play some pool. Who knew Leonardo was so good. Afterward, we went to a real local restaurant for lunch. I had bagre, a standard Colombian fish that tasted like most white fish, soaked in a salsa. It was delicious, although I kept pulling fish bones out of my mouth.

For the first time I didn't eat my avocado. Next we made our way to Lizabet's (who I had met the first night) to hang out. Our primary mission was to watch movies, but if you saw us, you would have thought it was to stuff our pie holes. First ice cream, then some kind of Colombian cookie / biscuit, followed by some mate, a Colombian sweet bread much like pound cake, soda, and then a full dinner made by Lisa's mom. During dinner I tried yuca, which is basically yams. Also with us was Lizabet's younger brother, Mogli (thats what they call him atleast because he looks just like the character). He is 18, looking about 15, and in his first year of college studying "design graphic". He seemed really excited that we were there and really wanted me to speak English with him so he could practice. We had some great conversations tonight, talking about languages and sayings and what-not. We ended up watching 300 and then Bad Boys II. Liza hadn't seen Bad Boys II so she was laughing hysterically the whole time. Finally we called it a night, and I was dropped back off at Diego's house.

Another thing I am learning about here is hospitality. How readily Diego's parents took me back in when I'm sure they were ready to get back to normal. How everyone doesn't mind driving me around when I know gas is expensive here. How everyone, wants to buy me food and cook me meals, even though I know they have their own hunger to worry about. Do I show this kind of hospitality? It's what God calls us to do, so I better start if I don't.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb