Bombs Over Bogota


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
December 31st 2008
Published: January 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

For those of you who didn't catch that, the title is a reference to an Outkast song, B.O.B (Bombs Over Baghdad). Outkast is amazing go listen to them.

I swear they must have an Enrique Inglesias radio station. I must have heard him 10 times in a row on the bus. That or they just worship him here so his songs come up all the time. So today I was going to sleep in until about 11, but I ended up waking up around 10:15. After eating some breakfast, Diego took me back up to the north end of Bogota (where we went Saturday night, when I was exhausted) to shop for Colombian made products. As I walked around the store, I slowly found all the decorations in my Grandma's house, haha. I ended up buying two gifts for people adn a hammock for myself. It has the Colombian colors in it of course.

Afterward, it was nice out so we walked around a bit visiting a mall and Park 93. I didn't buy any new clothes or shoes, although I did go in a Diesel store. It cooled off dramatically and began to drizzle, so we jumped on a bus back to Diego's house. We dropped some movies off and grabbed some coffee at Juan Valdez, the Starbucks of Colombia. I tried to order for myself, haha. Language fail. Diego just ended up repeating everything I said so that the clerk could understand. I bought a bag of coffee as another gift as well, and the we headed home, and spent the rest of the afternoon at the house. I thought New Year's Eve was going to be lame because in Colombia you spend it when your family. But of course God proved me wrong. We hung out until about 10:30, and then we ate a really nice meal together. We all took turns praying and saying what we were thankful for. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would, and I had some of the best conversations with them yet. God has really taught me a lot about family and I realized that last night. I can't really explain this epiphany, but I just have a new understanding.

At dinner we all had a glass of red wine, and while I don't really like to drink, I wasn't going to insult them by not drinking any. I've only tried a little red wine before, but I swear this was the driest red wine I've ever seen. I nearly coughed when I took the first sip, haha. After dinner we drove into downtown for a new fireworks show Bogota was putting on this year. It was the best I've ever seen. The building had all these colored lights that created insane effects, and at one point it essentially blew up. We returned home about 12:30 and had to eat 12 grapes for good luck. They were massive too; Colombia don't mess around. It's similar to our black eye peas and collar greens, except they have a lot crazier superstitions and people legitimately do them. One is if you wear yellow underwear on New Year's you'll make a lot of money in the coming year. The best one, that I actually saw people doing, was that if you run around a block a certain number of times with luggage, you will travel a lot this year. Oh, and now it's time to sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0843s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb