Time for a Day Trip


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
December 30th 2008
Published: January 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

You haven't lived until you have ridden in a bus going over 100 mph. I was actually more scared than anything else. We took a day trip to Zipaquira to see the Salt Cathedral. The bus ride there had a speedometer for the passengers. We had been going these ridiculous speeds since I had arrived, but now there was no fooling myself. When the speedometer started flashing 99, I knew were were going faster than it could measure, since there was only room for two digits.

We made it there without me wetting my pants, and started walking through the town. After we passed through the central plaza, we stared heading up towards the salt mines. It was somewhat of a climb, but probably wouldn't have been noticeable had the altitude not already been several thousand feet higher than I'm used to. The cathedral was massive, taking up a large portion of the mine. Don't imagine cramped claustrophobic halls, rather massive halls; giant, hollow caverns carved out of salt. My pictures do it no justices. Still, there were extensive tunnels to get lost in, and at the end there was a 3D movie about the mines history. Overall, I felt like it was money well spent.

We hoped on a bus afterward, and headed back to Bogota, and hung out at the house for the rest of the afternoon. Diego's mom cooked some kind of chicken and pasta dish that was good. They put ketchup on it, but I thought it was much better without it. Besides, I hate ketchup in other countries; it's just not the same. I've also come to accept that I just don't like fried plantains, or at least the way they are down here. I jsut don't like the way the salty is mixed with the sweet.

Once it got dark, we drove up to another high point in Bogota. Here people park on the side of the road, make-out, drink, and gaze at the bright brilliance that is Bogota. Vendors sell food, and here I tried my first morzorca, grilled corn on the cob. It's covered in butter and salt (great for me heart) and tastes like popcorn on a stick. I took some pictures, and we didn't stay long; When we returned to the house, Diego and I watched another movie (Mirrors) before calling it quits.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb