Easy Tiger.....


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
March 3rd 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so it looks like I ruffled some feathers with my last post.

Through messages, (which I choose to not post....and encourage a flame war) I was accused of being ethnocentric, biased, unChristian and angry. So I will address those dissenters in this post.

First off, throwing someone's faith back at them for voicing their opinion is not an effective argument. I am not 'less Christian' for judging immoral behavior. A tenant of the Christian faith is 'to put on armor' of faith. We are told that if we are 'lukewarm' God will spit us out. Paul writes in his epistles that we are not to laugh at, encourage or participate in activities that are questionable in anyway. And yes, we are told to not cast judgement upon others until we remove the plank in our own eyes. I openly admit, and always tell others that the plank in my eyes is huge, massive even...so I do not pass judgement, but the plank isn't big enough that it distracts me from seeing the truth. I'm a sinner and I sin. Don't worry...I admit that. I also acknowledge that I'm forgiven and that Christ loves me....the least I can do is try and behave myself and follow his examples. So....don't use the 'unChristian' argument. It simply doesn't hold water....I know....I've tried to argue the same point your using, and I continually failed.

Next up, ethnocentrism.

Each of us, regardless of where we come from, have certain qualities that are more appealing for a suitable home environment. Some prefer country living, some prefer city living. Some enjoy warm climates, some prefer colder. This is called preference, and we very much encourage and accept those preferences. It's sort of a built in human right. We should live where we prefer, and I simply prefer Chicago to Bogota. It's my geographical and personal preference. Please don't confuse ethnocentrism and personal choice. Ethnocentrism would consist of me saying Americans are better than Colombians. I have made it abundantly clear that the reason I'm here in Colombia, the reason I would consider staying, is for the Colombian people....for my kids. This city is not my preference, but I'd give up and sacrifice my own comfort for the amazing families I have been accepted into. This false and inaccurate use of ethnocentrism doesn't hold water.

vices...

I said, 'if you enjoy fast women and drugs'. Sorry if that statement made you feel self-conscience and personally conflicted. It was not a statement aimed at an individual, but we all know that there are many who come to Colombia looking for these vices. I have met far too many individuals who inquire about my personal opinion of Colombian women, their looks and 'hotness'. Why is there such an over sensationalist wonderment concerning Colombian women? Why is there this need for constant approval? What really bothers me, is that websites such as PBHColombia and other expatriate sites dredge up this same rhetoric over and over. Foreign men come here for the 'promise' of exquisite women, and the women are always assumed to be superficial and money-hungry. These stereotypes are so damaging......and encouraging trafficking of humans and sex tourism. To deny this is happening in Colombia is to deny reality. To deny that there is still a drug culture is to deny facts.

City Living...

I am a very well educated historian/sociologist/educator. I'm not telling you this to make myself look good or for bragging purposes. I'm telling you this because I understand certain urban principles such as 'social capital' and 'city planning'. I'm sorry if I insulted a city you love. I certainly understand attachments to urban centers. Many love Paris for its beauty. Others prefer New York for its arts, while even more appreciate Charleston for its 'southern charm'. I prefer Chicago for its ethnic diversity and I applaud Montreal for its urban development coexisting with its storied history. These are things we come to love about our favorite cities. If you appreciate Bogota for its charms, then I understand. My personal preference is that Bogota lacks the certain qualities that I find comfortable and home-like. Bogota has great parks and restaurants...thats all true. But the city lacks the small neighborhood feel that I appreciate about Chicago. Usaquen is a nice place to visit. La Candaleria certainly has its charms. But until you've experienced the different neighborhood cultures of my city, don't tell me I'm close minded....at least I'm living abroad and experiencing the world.

Flaming....

Again, I'm sorry if you took issues with MY travel blogs. This is supposed to be MY records, MY thoughts. I appreciate YOUR views and do take them seriously. But I assure you I'm not trying to insult you, insult this wonderful country (especially its people) or seem angry. I'm not. I'm just voicing myself on a travel weblog. If your that upset, then go ahead and pass over the thread. This is the only post I will make concerning these issues. I have much more to do than have flaming wars online. And this post is not directed at one person. It is a general reaction to different messages I have received over the last few days. However, those messages that have some positive input will definitely be added to this blog.

Thanks for taking the time to read this, and for those of you genuinely interested in my work, the next post will be back to documentation and observation.

I love you all, and as always...God Bless!

jz

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb