woah...where does time go


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
March 1st 2008
Published: March 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm sorry I haven't updated this in nearly a month. So much goes on, that its hard to sit down and just organize my thoughts and write them into a coherent narrative. But let me try...

As a school, we traveled out of the mountains and into the rainforest. It was a little worrisome at first, as we were traveling into paramilitary area. Not exactly FARC ground, but really close. We arrived at our location safely and had three days playing at a resort. Well, it called itself a resort....it was really the most amassed collection of insects and creepy-crawlies I've ever seen. There were bugs everywhere. At night, you had to seek shelter or you would become one big mosquito bite. One of our fellow teachers had over 250 bites...we counted! I was 'lucky' enough to get to use some super strength Korean insect repellent. It really worked well...I barely got bit at all. I did however climb into a lime tree for some green citrusy goodness and got attacked by a South American spider. He bit me three times, but I got the last laugh....well, my shoe got the last laugh.....luckily the bites only swelled up but it wasn't venomous or anything. At least I have the pleasure of relating my rainforest story of woe and danger.

Back here in Bogota, I got to fulfill one of my wishes for South America. We went to a professional futbol match. (Soccer to my American readers) Imagine being in a packed stadium with absolutely vicious and crazy hooligans. Thats South American futbol! We were warned before hand, that the probability of getting robbed/stabbed/beaten would be very high. Still, there is nothing more authentic than a fierce futbol match. We had to stand and continue singing/chanting the entire game. If you fail to support the home team, even for a second, then the aforementioned robbing/stabbing/beating can and probably will occur. Plus, I learned many new Spanish vocab words....many of which can't be repeated in polite company. The game was a tie into extra minutes, when the home team (Millionaries) was fouled attempting a strike. This resulted in a penalty kick, with no time left on the clock....amazing tension....if the kick went in everyone would be loving everyone and the stands would be swaying and singing in unified Millos love....if the kick was blocked, then we were prepared to begin running....even before the kick we (a whole row of gringos and our Colombian families) were getting pelted by coins and toilet paper rolls.....(after a futbol match, the entire field is littered with assorted garbage)...we were tense, and the player leaned back and launched a missile of a kick....right pass the keeper! The stadium erupted like a championship had been won. Singing, dancing, food, drinks...everything was in abundance. Colombians were grabbing us like long lost family and we were getting hugs, kisses and high-fives. The game was over and we didn't get out of the stadium for nearly an hour. It was like the biggest 15 thousand person party I've ever seen. Just craziness. And so much fun. A little scary, a little nervous and really relieved that a penalty kick was sure and true.

Back at school we had a packed week of International Festival goodness. I am the Senior class advisor, so I had to plan a menu of global treats. Luckily one of my students is Korean...(Did I ever mention how many Koreans live in Colombia? It's probably the second largest group after Colombians) We made Kimbab, (korean sushi) pies, Brazilian chocolate and I cooked pinchos (shisk-ka-bobs) on the grill. Besides being a cook and advisor, I helped the Freshman with their food, Poutine (French-Canadian dish....fries, cheese and gravy). Also, I'm the geography teacher so I had to make sure the Freshmen did map projects for each of the represented internationalities. It was a long week ending with a big school party on that Friday night. I'm so proud of my Seniors....they raised nearly 700,000 pesos. Thats about $450 dollars. Thats going to their senior trip....to a Caribbean island. I'm supposed to go with them, and hopefully will....but I do need to raise about $250 U.S. dollars to go with. This is not a trip that the school can pay for. So, if anyone is looking for that last minute gift for your favorite missionary.....there's a good need right there!

I've got to say though, that God has been really gracious. After two months in Colombia, I've only been majorly sick one time. I've had small things come up...sore throats, upset stomachs...spider bites....but thats minor. I've been in relative good health. All the walking was rough on my knees at first, but now I'm moving around without much issue. After a couple miles the right knee starts howling at me, but hey...it could be worse. I've lost some weight too. I'm not sure how much, but I am down four notches on my belt. God is watching over me. The other day the school decided that they would pay our rent for the month. Thats $250 saved right there. Plus, the missionary organization that offers us health insurance (Thanks to a great gift from my sister Shelley...Love ya!), had a great year with gifts and is offering each missionary $200. On top of that, the school is so appreciative of all our work, and they are paying for our hot lunches for the rest of the year. I found this out all in one meeting. Talk about miracles....God was surely smiling at me that afternoon. The money was a great relief. Since I didn't get any support from my church, the extra money will ensure we have food for a month. It came at a great time also, since one of the roommates was going to have to go home due to a lack of finances....and then this windfall of cash. Well, its enough to stretch for a month....but now he doesn't have to go home. Thanks and praise to God!

So, there are some negatives.....Bogota is like any other big city. I feel like every other street is exactly like the street that came before it. This city is not home, and does not feel comfortable. It's not dangerous...I've been pretty much everywhere and I don't feel endangered. I've been more uncomfortable in Chicago at times....but this place is just...boring sometimes. The futbol matches, the school....these are things that make it all worthwhile....my kids are amazing....they keep me going each and everyday....but Bogota itself is nothing special. I really do miss home. Back in Chicago you have diversity. China Town, Little Italy, Mexican areas, Polish areas.....you want something different and you can get it. Down here...every street has a chicken broaster restaurant with the same menu. Each street has a bakery, has a little tienda, has street food vendors.....all with the same offerings. Nothing is ever different. This city is isolated on top of a mountain, (third highest altitude city in the world)....and there is no diversity. It's amazing how suffocating that can feel. For those of you back in America who say that foreign people should get out of your country....just imagine what it would be like to not have that opportunity for different food, art and culture. Being down here makes you really appreciate the differences God has given us all. I also feel that this city kills your creativeness. I've been trying to write some songs, some stories....and all I hear is the constant buzz and drone of the city. Nine million neighbors make quite a racket...

Still, after complaining I realize that I really do like it here. Again, not for the location....but for the kids, the school and for being able to visually see the amazing work God is doing here.

Thanks for reading, and I apologize for getting to wrapped up in life to keep updating. I'll try to be more vigilant in the near future.

I love you all, miss you and count the days till I'm home with you all again. But I'm enjoying this all while God gives me the opportunity.

With God's love and blessings....

jz

Advertisement



2nd March 2008

You are the first person I hear saying that Bogota is a boring city. Don't you go out dinner, dancing, etc? And one question... where exactly is that paramilitary area you entered? Hope you enjoy the city a little more...

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb