5.


Advertisement
Published: July 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The FamilyThe FamilyThe Family

The group at the ISA dinner
So, here it is the week I though would never come. The past few days haven't been too out of the ordinary. Except having a party at a professors house... Imagine 20 gringos, one prof, and one small apartment. Hilarious! Zach and Craig went to the north for a bit, and other than the usual nights out I've been snuggling in bed with Chelsea watching movies. ISA had a "last supper" for us in an incredibly beautiful location with wonderful food! All the staff were there and they gave out all kinds of funny awards. Zach, Craig, and Matt got what translates too the 3 muskateer award and Chelsea was Miss Sonrisa (smile)!

It's hard to believe that its been more that 11 months since I left the good ole U.S. of A. I have had an incredible, awesome, amazing time. I got an email from Tomas (my Argentine host brother) the other day and it really hit me... oh my gosh I'm leaving... I'm leaving and going back to speaking english, back to my family, back to my friends, back to mexican food, and back home. 2nd thought process... I'm LEAVING; I'm leaving my host family, a little brother, a little sister, and a big sister. I'm leaving Craig, Matt, Chelsea, Mel, and so many others (luckily I'll see Sharla and Justin tons cause they live in AUSTIN!). I'm leaving Sergio, Angelo, Beatty, Carla all these chileans that live a world away! I'm trading street dogs for animal shelters, completos for Luna bars, running on the beach for running in the park, learning spanish for learning how to take the LSAT, murals and stencils for ugly graffiti tags, and cumbia, reggaeton, and 80s music for texas country, the ocean for the lake, Ají for mexican food... and most of all I'm leaving the most amazing people I've ever met to go back home... back home to the OTHER most amazing people I've ever met.

South America has been good to me. A little too good maybe... like at least 10 extra pounds good to me. That I won't miss. But, it's a small price to pay for all the awesome medialunas, empanadas, chifa, completos, oh yea and ron-colas. I'll miss the nights out with all these crazy kids and knowing that the later the night gets... the better my spanish will become. Odd? I don't think so. I'll miss Rino telling me stories that he made up in his little 7 year old head and the drama that comes with having a 14 year old host sister. I'll miss impromptu asados with way too much meat and way too much fun. I'll even miss feeling really pretty due to getting hit on in a sweatshirt with messy hair, even if it is only because I'm white and have a funny accent. It's easiest to say I'll miss it all. Everything. Even the stuff I called home to complain about...

Don't worry people at home, I've missed you. And as this amazing experience comes to end (although I refuse to believe it till I'm on the plane) I realize how lucky I am to have amazing people to go home too. I can't wait to see yall's smiling faces and don't worry you'll be sick of me again in no time. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Mel and RyanMel and Ryan
Mel and Ryan

So adorable!
Party at the Profs!Party at the Profs!
Party at the Profs!

Carla, Sharla, Justin, Me, and Matt
Oooh the ChileansOooh the Chileans
Oooh the Chileans

Sergio, Carla, Angelo, and me!
Duff!Duff!
Duff!

Sergio, Me, Sharla, and Justin
Valpo in a ShotValpo in a Shot
Valpo in a Shot

Street dogs and Murals


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb