Chao Ocho Norte y Nos Vemos Emi


Advertisement
Published: June 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Last night was a really sad moment when we had to say goodbye to Emi and Ocho Norte. It was easy for me to say goodbye to Emi this time because fortunately I get to see her again for our trip to Buenos Aires this weekend. However, when I see her off at the airport I will say it will not come so easily. I’m going to try and be strong ¨Strong Bull¨ but I have developed a wonderful friendship with a genuine woman and hate that things won’t be the same without her. We knew from the beginning that things were going to have to come to an end. It’s one of the first getting to know you questions here in Chile, ¨so how long are you here?¨ It wasn’t a surprise that she was leaving and that she was going to be the last one standing in good old Ocho Norte. That apartment became everyone’s home away from home in our crew, the party house, the drama house, the girl talk house, must I go on. I just didn’t think time would fly by as fast as it has. For Emi´s last night in Viña we decided to head out for ¨Oh triago, Oh cerveza o Oh no sè¨ for some chorrillana and some apple flavored beer. She started her first night off at that place and wanted to cap the Viña experience off at the same pub. It would symbolically end her experience in Viña. During the time at her apartment before "OH's" and during the time at "OH's" we came to the conclusion that gringa girls sure can cause some drama, well some of us anyway. We walked her back the apartment and that ended the Ocho Norte experience for the Crew in Viña. Ocho Norte was fun and all, but without everyone who made ocho norte all that it became it would have meant absolutely nothing but a street. I met some wonderful people in that place and will always remember every one of them as part of my experience in Chile. I hope to see every one of these people again in my life.
Joe~ "the very mature for his age guy". I will always remember those guitar serenades, the Spanish grammar corrections, the valpo experiences, and who can forget those black mail pictures?
Carina~"Let me tell you what's on my head!" Who can forget that trip to La Serena and us driving in South America, the Ache Havana and our hot Cuban guys, salsa (oh Lenny)? But hey....how about some Honkey Tonk in Tennessee??
Sarah~ "How you doin?" Jersey Girl- You were the first person I bonded with here in Chile and I miss you girl! The worried mother figure of the crew, always taken' care of everyone, feeding everyone (even if it's potatoes with the skin still on it, garlic flavoring, or a strange green salsa), etc. You are such a fun girl with the cutest laugh in the world. I miss our talks on the ocho norte balcony with the construction guys staring and throwing their hearts to us.
Emi~"Did you hear that? The phone's ringin" Oh my Minnesota/Texas girl. I, along with you, will never forget our first encounter at the winery and then the more time I spent with you the closer my friendship became. It "sooths" me that I know we will see each other again in Texas when you visit your mom. But with ocho norte you became the "host" for the "Emi House Party's", where we became even closer friends with the crew of Chile. Who can forget the Mendoza trip, the Santiago Birthday Party, the late night talks (often with wine)? I'm going to miss you girl!


Advertisement



10th June 2005

Ode to departamento #35
Oh, Ocho Norte, you will be missed my little departamento...it was so many things to each of us: shelter, frustration, beer pong central, late night wine talks and both my refuge away from the drama of chile and the place where it all went down. So many memories in such a little place. At least #25 is happy to see us all gone! - Miss Emi
13th June 2005

We miss you Girl!
I am so glad to see you have made such good friends but honestly Mandy, I had no doubts. You are such a sweet person and so easy to talk to, friends just grow on you. It is definately hard to say goodbye when you have spent so much time together. I do hope you see everyone of them again. But, when I speak for all of us back home, WE MISS YOU GIRL! We can't wait to have you come home just like Emi's family or Sarah's and Carina's families. I'm sure they all miss them like crazy just as much as we miss you and can't wait to see you. So good luck to all of them and I wish the best for them in following their dreams like you. Love ya. XOXO! - Brooke

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb