I love jumping off cliffs


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Tarapacá » Iquique
February 24th 2008
Published: February 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: 57 secs
Take off pointTake off pointTake off point

sand dunes.. ocean..
I went paragliding yesterday! I´ve never been before so I was truly looking forward to it!
HOWEVER! Why didnt anyone warn me about ... hm. lets just say that its highly likely to get MOTION SICKNESS when paragliding!??? There should be a big warning on their website that says.. if you got a weak belly and are prone to motion sickness then take motion sickness pills! No need to warn us that we would be doing this at your own risk since there is always the possibility of crashing hundreds of feet high from the sky. clearly thats possible! but I had no idea that I would be feeling as if I was on a ship in a thunderstorm. It was sooo rocky.. like being swung backkk and forthhh.. backkk and forth... Under the blistering sun while dressed up in a full bodysuit and helmet. There is nothing worse than being hott while having motionsickness. So all these pictures you see are right in the begining of my take off and soon after these pictures the sickness set in. =P I never puked but man o man did i ever so want to!

ALSO! I was going to keep this
before before before

jumpsuit!
a big secret but I´m going to just spill the beans. I was god damn scared! I´ve jumped out of planes before and I´m typically not afraid of heights but there was something about paraglidng. I felt strangely uncomfortable up there! I didnt really trust the guy I jumped with. He spoke shit english and he didnt seem passionate about paragliding. We didn´t have a connection when I looked him in the eyes. You need somewhat of a connection with the individual if you are trusting them with your life. We landed safely and smoothly so I can´t put down the guy that much but I didn´t really care for him that much! Once we landed, I desperately tore off my helmet and my jumpsuit. and crawled to the ocean. i kicked off my sneakers and sat in the sandy wet beach. but the sand kept sinking in whenever the water washed up which made me even dizzier. so i saw a group of lifeguards and trekked through the hott sand and asked in a weak voice, ¨agua por favor!¨ hahah... they gave me this nasty warm water and let me sit in the shade. While im looking like a
paragliding crewparagliding crewparagliding crew

people come to this cliff every day... paragliding is more than a sport.. it has become part of their life.
zombie that just fell from the sky, they asked me... do you like Reggae music? of course i shook my head up and down.. because who doesnt like reggae!?! and they invited me to this reggae concert thats out on the beach tonight! pretty much 2 minutes from my hostel. so i switched my bus ticket to Arica till tomorrow.. met a couple from Washington and their friend who are also traveling to Arica and all the way to Cusco! so Im going to be heading out with them tomorrow.. I always feel more comfortable traveling with others so im quite pumped on it. we are gunna go to the reggae show too together. Soooo so far so good! See, everything does happen for a reason! If i never went paragliding and if I never got sick then I never would have gone see the lifeguards! and if i never saw the lifeguards then i never would have found out about the reggae show tonight! Dont you just love how life works in mysterious ways?????


Well, im going to go toss my body onto the sand.

ps- dad, I think this will be the first time in
flying highflying highflying high

about 5 minutes later that smile turned into a seasick face
my life where my tan is darker than your tan! =P


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

parachuteparachute
parachute

i look uncomfortable huh?
SMILE FOR THE CAMERA BABY!SMILE FOR THE CAMERA BABY!
SMILE FOR THE CAMERA BABY!

thanks for my pearly whites mom & dad =P
shade of green???shade of green???
shade of green???

this is after i landed on the beach... you see a smile.. but its forced and im really ready to barf my brains out.


27th February 2008

haha u really look a frightened in the video...the view looks fuckin insane

Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb