Hello from Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
April 27th 2006
Published: May 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I arrived in Santiago de Chile on April 10th and have actually been having a very busy time.

First I had to see the sights of Santiago which was a wonderful place. It is however a little colder on this side of the mountains. It was lucky that the day I went to the top of Cerro San Cristobal to see the statue of Mary they had markets going and I was able to find a perfect size souvenir t-shirt just for me.

I did have to have a small operation on my paws so I could wear it , but rest assured they are back to normal now!

I went on a wine tour on a steam train to Colchagua which is near the San Fernando region south of Santiago. Here I spent some time wine and cheese tasting before trying to smuggle out a very large bottle of wine from the Estampa winery. Unfortunately the new t-shirt wasn't quite big enough to hide it and I was caught red-pawed!!

After Santiago I joined a camping trip on a biiiiig yellow truck. Heading north the first stop was La Serena then Bahia Iglesa before driving across the Atacama desert to San Pedro.

The campsites have all been wonderful. At Bahia Iglesa I think there was the biggest playground I have ever seen and I spent some time on the swings and see-saw. The see-saw wasn't quite my thing, I am a bit lighter than everyone else and I kept being flung into the air. Not much fun at all really!!

Anyhoo, from Chile it was a short stop back in Argentina before next heading into the wilds of Bolivia where I will be for the next few weeks.

Bye for now,
Godfrey.

ps. Big Happy Birthday to Vaan for the 6th, and Happy Mothers Day to all the mums.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

ValparaisoValparaiso
Valparaiso

The view of Valparaiso from one of the funicular railways.
Estampa WineryEstampa Winery
Estampa Winery

Now that's a bottle of wine...
Trying not to get eaten at the Colchagua MuseumTrying not to get eaten at the Colchagua Museum
Trying not to get eaten at the Colchagua Museum

This used to be the biggest shark in the sea!!! That's a normal size great white behind me.
La SerenaLa Serena
La Serena

Night time on the beach.
Bahia IglesaBahia Iglesa
Bahia Iglesa

Safely tucked up in my tent for the evening.
We're on the road to nowhere...We're on the road to nowhere...
We're on the road to nowhere...

Not really nowhere, this is heading back to San Pedro de Atacama after visiting the El Tatio Geiser in the morning.
San PedroSan Pedro
San Pedro

Visiting Valley of the Moon near San Pedro de Atacama


Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb