Chau Chile :(


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
July 10th 2010
Published: July 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

No te vayasssssNo te vayasssssNo te vayasssss

When I first met Paul in Santiago, I kind of hated him. He quickly became one of my best friend. Funny huh?
Well, I'm down to my last few days in Chile; it is surreal. I have said goodbye to quite a few friends and last night could have been one of the roughest since I've gotten here; I went to the despedida (going away party) of one of my best friends and one of my favorite frenchies, Paul. It's weird and a little heart-wrenching not knowing when the next time I will see my friends from the other side of the world; or if it will become one of those friendships of the past- so amazing while we were together but faded as time went by without each other.

My flight leaves Santiago on Tuesday evening and I have asked my friend Thomas to take me to the airport. It will at least make that last bus ride out of Santiago a little less dramatic and sad. (I'm already in the process of planning a trip to Europe with a good friend from San Diego for next year!). I'm pretty confident that all of the friendships I have made this year are not ending with this experience but it still makes my eyes fill up every once and a while.
AmigoooAmigoooAmigooo

We got really close when we kept crossing paths in Peru and Bolivia. When we first ran into each other in a hostel in Cusco (we had met a few times in Santiago), he ran up to me with opened arms and said "Macccc!", my reaction... "Daviddd!" (his name is Paul!). He forgave me and after that we became really good friends!

I've been in bed sick for the past four days; I know it's my fault- completely neglecting my health and partying non-stop for the past two (or twelve) months has taken it's toll. I took advantage of the university health care plan they offer that I never used and went to the doctor whom prescribed me some antibiotics so that I'm not completely miserable on the 20 hour flight home.

Well, weird. weird. weird. I don't like these last blog entries. Kind of bums me out a little. Can't wait to see everyone at home. I keep having dreams with everyone in them; a few nights ago I was giving Aubrey a piggy-back-ride and she was younger than when I came here. I know I'm going to get to San Diego and she'll probably be the same height as me.

I found an apartment, got my old job back, registered for some classes and am ready to jump back into the San Francisco swing of things! See you all veryyyy soon. XOXO

p.s. thanks for keeping up with my blogs! it was actually really fun to do and one of these days i'll go back and read
DespedidaDespedidaDespedida

Paul and Celia's going away party.
them 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My frenchiesMy frenchies
My frenchies

3 of my favorite frenchies...
BernardoBernardo
Bernardo

One of my really good Chilean friends- we met on Isla del Sol in Bolivia. Paul and I had ran out of pesos Bolivanos y traded him for Chilean pesos. Since then we've been good friends.
Musica?Musica?
Musica?

Singing and dancing la cumbiaaaa...


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb