CHI-CHI-CHI-LE-LE-LE... VIVA CHILE!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
June 22nd 2010
Published: June 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

GANÓ CHILEEEE!GANÓ CHILEEEE!GANÓ CHILEEEE!

vamos, vamos, vamos....
CHI-CHI-CHI-LE-LE-LE-VIVA-CHILE!!! CHI-CHI-CHI-LE-LE-LE-VIVA-CHILE!!!

This is the chant that I have been waking up to since the world cup started... so far Chile has won the two games that it has participated in during this year's world cup!!! Whoohhooo! I know I put up a few pictures of the festivities del mundial in the last blog entry, but it's too good not to share!!!

Today, the game started at 10am; everyone gathered in bars, restaurants, friend's houses or the streets to watch the big game against Suiza. I went to a friends house to cheer Chile on and at around 12pm, every corner of the city was filled with confetti!

Even when the University of Chile wins a game, it is tradition that every Santiaguino heads to Plaza Italia to celebrate. Celebrating includes: sitting on the tops of statues, being pickpocketed, screaming the Chilean chant, drinking anything from Pisco to boxed wine (no matter what hour it is) and all of this is usually topped off with burning eyes due to the teargas thrown by los pacos.

AAHHHHH- how I am going to miss these celebrations!!!

It has hit me, this past week especially, how much I am going to miss it here. There have definitely been some rough patches (I would be completely lying if I said this was all easy and fun), but life here has become normal. I am exhausted from my finals, a little delirious from the constant partying and sooo ready to see my family, friends, San Diego and San Francisco... but I am on cloud nine right now... living up my last 3 weeks in sudamerica!

P.S. I was waiting to cross the street a few weeks ago and a Chilean asked me for directions... do you have any idea how good that felt? (And yes... I knew where to send them!!!).


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

CarabiñerosCarabiñeros
Carabiñeros

the po-lice holdin' down the fort.
A little fire?A little fire?
A little fire?

No biggie...
Teargas Anyone?Teargas Anyone?
Teargas Anyone?

Even if you walk through Plaza Italia hours after it cleared out, your eyes still itch and burn from the leftover teargas in the air.
La Universidad!La Universidad!
La Universidad!

So is my university here beautiful or what? This is the campus that is just a few blocks from my house.
Museo Bellas ArtesMuseo Bellas Artes
Museo Bellas Artes

The fine arts museum 1/2 block from my house; I visit it about every week or so!
MetroMetro
Metro

Figure I need to take some pictures of the places I go daily, the might be normal and nothing right now, but I know I'll be missing them soon!
A little PDA...A little PDA...
A little PDA...

Makeout in the plazas or parks? Gotta do whatcha gotta do when you live with your parents 'till you're married...
Plaza de ArmasPlaza de Armas
Plaza de Armas

Just a nice day in Plaza de Armas. Tengo la suerte that I live about 5 blocks from the most famous plaza in Chile.


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb