A Day in the city


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
April 16th 2008
Published: April 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: a different drum 29 secs
Hi everyone, I havent written for the past two dys as I had to reload the system. I've just about got it right again but am still missing my graphic program,you see every photo that is uploaded has to be don in certain size and format so it usually takes me bout 5 mins ech photo. I'll be right tomorrow I reckon.
Yesterday, Tuesday I went into the city propper and boy what a city. They hve food malls there but not like in Australia. There are all theses little shops one after another virtually selling the same stuff, these little chile dogs. they call them "completa's" and thats a roll, a vienna like processed meat, avacado, cheese suace, chunks of chopped tomatoe and a liberal, Nay a dousing of your favorite sauce which is usually hot chile of course. But the strange thing is that the people stand leaning against the counter eating them, when they are finished which is usually only about 2mins then someone else takes their spot leaning at the counter and eating the completa... it is the funniest thing.

I found the post office but mistimed my arrival, I got their too early and my pension hadnt gone into the bank at that time So I will do my posting today, hopefully.

I've been catching a few taxis around the city and have got a bit of a handle on how much they cost. Yesterday when I came back to the hostel the driver wanted to charge me double what was usual. When I asked to look at the metre which was pushed inside a little alcove, he reached down and turned it off. I had already paid him more than it was worth so I just jumped out, he had noo complaints.

I think that is why he wanted me to sit in the back, that was the first time I had sat in the back, every other time I have been in the front where you can see the metre properly.
Ah but most of the cabbies are really helpfull and friendly, I suppose you get the good and the bad in all things.,

They have a phone company here called Moviestar and they play on the line that everyone can be a moviestar with their phones, well on the back of a bus I saw a picture of flea, larger than life, even he's a moviestar. I'll post the picture a bit later.
I took a coupple of short videos from the city centre where there are buskers everywhere nd its polite to tip only if you make eye contact. its easier for me to post videos than stills

Miss everyone, hope that your moves go well. and donna forget Flea and Maxwell.

Love Russell

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb