the view from the top


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
April 13th 2008
Published: April 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: up the hill santiago 34 secs
2: teleficano 40 secs
corn drinkcorn drinkcorn drink

This is the local drink. A scoop of corn, two nearly off peaches and a warm sweet syrup to fill the glass. I was told I had to try this and I have. Its just too sweet.
Well I took a walk out towards this knob shaped hill that sits smack bang in the middle of Santiago. On this hill is the funsicale and the teleferico. A tram like ride up the side of the hill to he top and then cable car ride across the top of this hill showing a 360 degree view of the city and sorounding suburbs. The ride was steep and exhillarating and the view was nothing short of amazing. When you get to the top there is small market and hundreds of bicycles which people hire and ride down the hill to the bottom. I was tempted to hire one but then recollected the dislocated shoulder fiasco of 1998 and tghought better of it. There is a picture of a blue eyed dog on this blog. It didnt show up too well on the foto but he had bright blue eyes, I've never seen a bright blue eyed dog before. At the bottom of the hill there was a couple of lamas and I took a foto of one, well didnt the keeper come on to me, demanding 100 pesos, then his offsider upped the ante to 500 pesos. I did hurry
dogdogdog

This is the amazing blue eyed dog
away I can tell you. Lesson learnt today, a .lot of South Americans either do not want their fotos taken or want money for the privalige.
I forgot my hat and my sunscreen today and the clima went to about 30 degrees. By the time I got back to the hostel after having walked about 5 kilometrs I was stuffed.
The other backpckers have planned a roast meal tonight and invited me. I am so looking forward to the meal I can tell you. When we divided the tally up the cost per head came to about $2.00 each.

I am going to venture into the city centre tomorrow to look for some T shirts and a vest.

Love and miss you all
Russell

PS I managed to get a couple of videos uploaded, enjoy...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

viewtopviewtop
viewtop

The view from the top of the Hill
dankeydankey
dankey

What the f...


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb