Sanitago


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
July 4th 2007
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Santiago after one of the longest bus rides of my life. We got in at about 7am and checked into the hotel. I was feeling uber independent and I went and stayed in a hostel instead of the hotel so I went and dropped off my bags and checked into the hostel. I joined back with the group right away to go on some winery tours which I so cleverly forgot my camera for 😞. I bought some really nice wine and was able t taste quite a bit of it. We went to Concha y Torro and then to a small moms and pops style winery. Concha y Torro was a big winery where everything was done by machine and the tour was very impersonal. It was good though because we got to go into the cellars and stuff and at the end of the tour one of the wines were able to try was from 1988 and it was a $180 (u.s.) bottle of wine. We went on to our second winery which was family owned and operated and it was all done by hand. We had such an awesome time at this winery because we actually were talking to the man that made the wine. He was so passionate about his wine that it was hard not to get excited with him about what he was doing. I headed back to the hostel that night and just hung around in the main lounge having a couple drinks and talking to people that were there. Everyone was pretty low key because the night before was apparently a “big” night. One of the girls in my dorm was from Holland and her and I really hit it off. We spent the whole day together just hanging around the city. We went for lunch, went shopping and went on an adventure to try and find the apartment that her friend lived in when she was studying in Santiago. It was really nice to spend some time with someone new. That night we went for dinner at a little Mexican place that served nachos with a spoon (weird). When we got back to the hostel there were about 8 million people in the lobby. One of the guys that worked at the hostel was leaving to go back to the UK so there was a huge party for him. We went to a night club and didn´t get home until about 5am. It was a great time. On the last day I wondered the city and saw the sights. I ran into one of the guys that I was staying with at the hostel and did some wondering with him. All in all I had an amazing time in Santiago. I am only sad that I didn´t have my camera with me for most of my time in this city. Sorry for the lack of pics.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb