I have arrived in South America


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
January 4th 2007
Published: January 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Santiago, Chile to Vina Del Mar, Chile

First road trip on my Journey. I was driven by Matia´s mum from Santaigo, Chille To Vina Del Mar.

Additional maps: The Flight to Chile from Australia

Sun setSun setSun set

on the drive from Santiago to Vina Del Mar
Well I finally caught my flight from Sydney, Australia to Santiago, Chile. Like some of you already know, those who came over to mine for a final, final goodbye. That I think I had packed enough. Well while I was checking in at the Airport, my bag may have been a little over weight, but with a smile from me all was good.

I flew into Santiago, and the whole landscape was different. It’s not a very lush or green city. A lot of it surrounded with desert like mountains and its very dry heat. You just don’t sweat. We came out of the airport and were mobbed by taxi drivers wanting to take us to our destination. Much like what happens in India, I think India is worst.

Well finally Jovic´s friend Matis came with his mum in a Ford Focus to pick us up. Only my back pack would fit in the boot, Man am I carrying too much.

That afternoon we left for Vina Del Mar, a coastal city of Chile. Matias has a friend who has a apartment there and we are going to stay there for a few days over the New years.
View from the balcomyView from the balcomyView from the balcomy

The view of Vina Del Mar.
The drive took like 2 hours. It was beautiful. The sun was setting over the mountains (photo added).

When we got to the apartment, we found out that Matias friend grandmother was staying at the apartment. After a little convincing, she let us stay there (photo added).

We went to a beach-docks party for NYE called ´elevate´ (get high). There we saw the fireworks in the harbour and celebrated the arrival of the New Year. A completely strange girl gave me a NYE Kiss. Lets just say it was a good start to the New Year.

It was an open bar, so I drank a lot of Red Bull and rum. I would of easily drank 7 to 10 cans of red bull that night.

Well New Years was great, it was an awesome way to start the trip.

I am back in Santiago now.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

the lady we stayed with.the lady we stayed with.
the lady we stayed with.

The grandmother we stayed with in Vina Del Mar.
sitting aroundsitting around
sitting around

Just taking in the coast line at Vina Del Mar
Fire works for New Years Eve 1Fire works for New Years Eve 1
Fire works for New Years Eve 1

Fire works in the bay of Vina Del Mar, Chile
Fire works for New Years Eve 2Fire works for New Years Eve 2
Fire works for New Years Eve 2

Fire works in the bay of Vina Del Mar, Chile
Matias, Me , JovicaMatias, Me , Jovica
Matias, Me , Jovica

The three Amigos at New years in Chile
Dj Playing at New Years.Dj Playing at New Years.
Dj Playing at New Years.

The Dj at new years
The charm still works. The charm still works.
The charm still works.

Her name is Yasna, and we became very close very quickely........
Time to danceTime to dance
Time to dance

She spoke no english and my spanish is very bad, but we found a way to communicate.


4th January 2007

Happy New Year Ankur! ride the waves baby... lil red mwa keep me updated ,shots are great!
4th January 2007

Naughty Boy
You don't seem to be changing! Behave responsibly in the distant lands at least. Tke care and remain safe. We miss you a lot. With lots of love
4th January 2007

My Moves
Good to see you have obviously been observing carefully when I demonstrate my moves. Nice work Anks! :-)
4th January 2007

NYE
Hey... Good to hear that you had a fantastic NYE... just one question, how old is Ms Chilie (hopefully over the legal age)... Have fun... Love Shivali
5th January 2007

GQ Chile.
Hi Mel, Just showing Chile what GQ is all about. Haven´t been doing much last couple of days but looks like the weekend is picking up. Don´t worry its always worth while reading about the life of GQ. Later Ankur (GQ)
7th January 2007

As your elder brother now
It would be amiss of me not to remind you to be careful... but now thats out of the way looks like your running a muck have a great time..
14th January 2007

Take care of my sister
Well Glen I am looking after myself, and while I am away take good care of Shivali and I will see you all in India for the wedding. Anks

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb