Con la familia


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
December 6th 2006
Published: December 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


It was only 24hours ago that I was in Geneva saying bye to friends and family. Now I’m in an other continent and about to face a year in the unknown. It feels weird leaving everyone behind as well as the great comfort of home.

After a 14h flight, getting to Santiago was no problem, even passing from a 5 to 30 degree heat. I’m sure it won't be too much of a problem and I’ll get used to it…

I just had a great start by taking the house and only car keys with me, which meant that my brother would not be able to use the car and spend his time hitchhiking . Luckily, I realized that while I was taking my connection flight in Paris and had to rush to buy an envelope and stamps. What made it better was the entertainment I had while I was posting the keys. A drunken French man started to pick a fight in a café with two rugby built aussie guys. Fortunately the whole thing came to an end when others intervened and stopped the brawl before there was any French blood shed.

It has been 2 ½ years that I haven’t been back to Santiago and seeing the family is a great transition before the big tour. I also met for the first time the latest recruit of the family, a bubbly 1 ½ year old girl with curly blond hair and great blue eyes. Never thought that blonds ran in my Chilean family genes, who knows it might be a delivery from the postman or milkman… just kidding ; )

My plan for the next few days will be stuffing myself with barbecues, meet up with old acquaintances and go and see the love of my life on Saturday… Colo-Colo plays the semi-final of the Chilean championship. Unfortunately I did not manage to get tickets to see them play the South American cup final next Wednesday. Instead, I’ll be joining Evan (my old flat mate in Glasgow) in the south of Chile on Sunday. We’re planning to travel for ten days and come back up for xmas.

I guess next time you’ll hear from me will be somewhere in the south…


Advertisement



9th December 2006

Colo Colo
I hope universidad or Catholica win and that Arsenal get Celtic in Champions league final and destroy them 18-0 on aggregate and that Celtic get releagted to the Chilean league.... Enjoy the south and the game. Life good here. You left right on time, the whether now is almost as poor as you are on the playstation. Besides that same old. All ins and hardly any folds. Easy mate, Tareq
11th December 2006

Felices de tenerte nuevamente entre nosotros para que pasemos unas fiestas de fin de año juntos...que lindas las niñitas que estan en la foto, pero claramente la Josefina no es entrega del lechero o el cartero ...piensalo bien es igualita a su madre.... Un beso y pasalo super estos dias por el sur de Chilito Atentamente tu prima , la madre de las niñitas de la foto..
11th December 2006

Atmosphere.....
Mate, how is it going over there with Pinochet's passing??? Did all of you party like mad?!! lol Seriously, the atmosphere must be buzzing.... PS: If you did not see the game, ARSEnal were so blooooody lucky yesterday
11th December 2006

Tight!
Glad to see you've made it safely! Good luck!

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb