I have arived at santiago


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Providencia
April 9th 2008
Published: April 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone I have arrived ib Santiago in good spirits but boy is the language thing a barrier. I ended up staying at the Hotel belle vista. its a swank upper lass hotel in the restuarant side of town. Its quater to midnight here and Boy am I tired. The Aucklank thing is something else. THERES A CURENCY EXCHANGEEVERY TEN YARDS AND THE WHOLE TOWN IS GEARED TO ACCEPT THE TRANSIENT TOURIST DOLLAR. THEY DONT MOND EXPLOITING THE TOURISTS EITHER. heres a lurk, I wander past this sports bar come breakfast place and see two mauries out the front chowing down on half a dozen eggs and half a pig in bacon on the windows a sign saying egg & bacon breqakfast only $6.00. well I order it and out comes a piece of toast, two eggs and a I think two slender rashes of bacon. By this time the mourie regulars are well and truly gone and so is my six bucks. the old Auklanders have built a thriving economy on the devalued new zealand dollar and charging american or australian prices plus some.
On my way out I STOPPED AT A KEBAB PLACE AND ASKED HOW MUCH ? he said $8.00 so I begin counting out thie old New Zealand dollars and run short by 3 bucks so then I produce the magical australian two dollar coin at which he says what would you like , like anything on the menu as soon as he saw the 2 dollar coin.

Any hows I have taken a lot of photos but cant upload them yet due to a glitch in the hotels wifi system. I should be able to post them tomorrow. wednesday. I ordered the room thinking that there would be wifi so I could PLUG MY CAMERA AND HEADPHONES IN BUT ALAS NOT TO BE. Santiago is a city where anything goes and politeness is a common thing I had my bags carrie on thee occassions so far this arfternoon.

Ill be booking into the La cimba hostel tomorrow and then hav a coupla days in bed.
Love to everyone I will type the sammy hostel ordeal tommorrow. The city is both rustic and charming where manners still mean something.

Love Russell (dad)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb