Punta Arenas - it's cold!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Punta Arenas
March 31st 2011
Published: March 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

City tour today. The German from the hostel (which is together with me the only guest at the moment) and I went first to one of the miradores of the city, from where we had a great view over the city, the Strait of Magallan (yeah, I found out how it's called in English!) and Tierra del Fuego. The weather is beautiful, but quite cold (about 6-8 degrees) and - again - Patagonian wind. After buying my bus ticket to Puerto Madryn (I changed plans. I won't stop in Rio Gallegos, but do the whole trip Punta Arenas - Puerto Madryn, which takes me about 24h, starting on Saturday at 11:30), we visited the Magallan museum and the cemetery, which is called the most beautiful cemetery of South America. It's not that beautiful, but quite pretentious and kitschy, and it's interesting to see all these Italian, Yugoslavian, German, and Swiss names. There is a huge grave for the Germans who were working here for the Deutsche Krankenkasse and the grave of the first Swiss family in this region, the Baeriswyls. We had lunch in the chocolatta, which was founded by exactly this family. There's not much more to see here (but it's cool to be in the world's southermost bigger city and the southermost city of the mainland, as well as the almost southermost point of the mainland), but tomorrow we'll go to the Pali Aike National Park, which is located in the north-west of Punta Arenas and which includes the Pali Aike crater.
Because of the complaints concerning pictures I took a pic with my cell phone today, which I could upload. Enjoy! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb