Boattrip Puerto Williams - Punta Arenas


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Punta Arenas
January 28th 2008
Published: February 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Inside the containerInside the containerInside the container

Like you see, even a 5 stars bedroom is not so spacy :)
This time an original and exciting way to get from Puerto Williams to Punta Arenas. A 36 hours boattrip on a container ship. 😊 There was only place for 20 persons on the ship and there were no beds, only a cabine with seats, who were very uncomfortable. The first night I didn't sleep at all, but I didn't care because I was already on deck at 5 am in the morning to shoot my sunrise pictures. Amazing sunrise on the beagle channel and we passed very near all the glaciers. A lot of sympathic people on the boat to chat with. People from Switzerland, Australia and even a guy from Ghent folks!

Of course we also had to eat!! But there was only place for 8 persons at once. So we had to eat in several shifts. We were served by a very enthousiastic Chief Cook who served our plates in a record of time and kicked us out quite fast for the next shift ! 😊

The second day on the boat I was quite exhausted because I didn't sleep. I didn't want to spent a another night of hell in the cabine and decided to sleep
BoattripBoattripBoattrip

The Chief cook of the ship, very proud to show the menu!!
in a container of the ship. No worries folks, my sleeping bag goes until minus 20!! Nice to sleep on the ground, but the next day, my ears were quite fucked up by the noise of the engines 😊

Finally I arrived well in Punta Arenas, but than Uli's battery gave up at had to spent 4 days in bed having a flue. Luckily I met a German girl Irene who had also a problem with her back so that we could rest together.
Normally I counted to spent 2 days in Punta Arenas but it became one week 😊 During this week I went again on a pinguin trip and sorry to say it guys, but again I did't go for a swim 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

BoattripBoattrip
Boattrip

Yep folks! That was the ship :)
Cabine of the shipCabine of the ship
Cabine of the ship

The cabine where we had to sleep during our 36 hours boattrip
Container on the shipContainer on the ship
Container on the ship

This is the container where I slept into on my second night :)
People on the shipPeople on the ship
People on the ship

Very sympathic folks that I met on the ship


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb