Los Pengiunos and then to Punta natales


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Puerto Natales
February 23rd 2012
Published: March 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

53 degrees south53 degrees south53 degrees south

los pengiunos, teirra del fuego
So, up at the crack of sparrows and re-met Jack and Claudia from Aspen who were on the calamity boat yeseterday. Claudia is the sister in law of Jack, who's mum and dad fell ill on a cruise and were dropped off in Punta Arenas and have been here for three weeks in a local hospital. his dad has developed double pneumonia and mum has a broken ankle. They fly out with them tomorrow and my thoughts are with his folks.

Anyways, we take a fast speed boat to see the pengiuns and then it's coffee and Pisco sour, a delicious Chille rum based drink. Also saw a sealion colonly and the smell was quite overpowering. Really, sealion shit really is pungent. As a bonus on the way back saw some dolphns, so a good day. top tip. if you are planning to visit the pengiuns do the early morning trip, it is good fun in the speed boat.

Then bus to Peurto Natales. Settled in at a fantastic little hostel (the Tin House) and went to Erractic Rock for some advise on my hike and camping rental. Really great set up, good hosts and the best part is
Teirra del FeugoTeirra del FeugoTeirra del Feugo

as far south as I am going. the othewr flag is that of Patagonia
they have a decent bar open to all.

Now as most of you that know me, I am not really a wilderness sort of guy, prefering the beach/party life but this is the wilds of Patagonia and if I am going to hike the Inca trail at 4000ft in the Andes for 4 days then I had better know what I am letting myself in for. As luck would have it in my dorm is a Greek guy called Marcus. Ex army and hiker/trekker all the way. An amazing chap who helped me prepare for my trek, advise on blisters and how to stop them, assisted in putting up tent, good food to take etc .One of lifes good guys and I could not repay him enough for his kindness and time. He took me on as some sort of project. so I took him for a beer in the evening. Amazingly in the bar was a girl who we discovered as we chatted lives in a small village in south wales where I lived in my teens. We went to the same school and there was some reminising. She is sat with 3 American guys and it is clear to me that they all fancy her. Anyways I introduce her to Marcus and that was it. sold. she clearly fancied Mousakka that night and when marcus returned in the morning he clearly had enjoyed his welsh rarebit. So maybe in some ways I repayed him for his kindness after all.

So here we go, The bus is coming and, thanks to Marcus and the guys at Erratic Rock I am full of confidence. Weather looks good too. 5 days doing the W in the Torres del Paine National park.




me gusta tu trabajo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb