Antarctic Adventure


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Puerto Natales
January 10th 2012
Published: January 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Scenic Cruising:



Woke up to overcast skies and drizzle. Every now and then the sun would peek through and while having coffee I saw a rainbow, grabbed my camera and in my robe headed to the verandah for a picture. A note about my camera; the Cannon refuses to work even with fresh batteries. I turn it on and get a message “change batteries”. This is a real bummer as I am relying on the telephoto lens to get good shots of the icebergs. I took it to the photo shop and he tried his rechargeable batteries and the camera works fine. It appears that the Duracell Ultras are too lightweight to power the lens. Will have to search for a rechargeable kit or some “heavy weight” ones tomorrow in Puerto Arenas.

After breakfast I went on deck just in time to see the Amalia Glacier coming up on the port side. I jockeyed for position on the rail, and then moved up above the crowd but in a really chilly position. Went to the cabin to get my jacket and my key wouldn’t work. Bummer, but my cabin steward was near by and let me in. Exiting the cabin I noticed a door out to a port side stairway and tried it. There I was on my own viewing platform, sheltered from the rain and wind and all by myself. As the ship changed direction I moved to starboard. Again I was the only one there. I think I got some good shots.

Headed to the front desk for a new key and asked for two. Now I hope that one at least will work. Back to my cabin to watch the glacier from my verandah until we were back in the channels then ordered lunch and opened a bottle of Chilean Carmenere wine. This is an old world grape thought extinct and even the vintner didn’t know about it. He thought it was a merlot. It wasn’t until he exhibited that a judge told him what he had. It is a robust, full bodied red and went well with my onion soup, chef’s salad and smoked salmon.

It was a good day to laze about. I read a bit then watched some TV until it was time for dinner.

Katherine has not returned so I think it’s just Gerald, Jim and me from now on. I enjoyed a tomato barley soup and a sweet and sour chicken dish followed by Cappuccino and cinnamon ice cream.

By then it was near ten so I headed to bed. Tomorrow, PENQUINS!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb