Isla Navarino - Part I


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Isla Navarino
January 8th 2008
Published: January 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Isla Navarino


Hey everyone!

Sorry for the delay in getting an entry up. Things have been very crazy since my first foray into Torres del Paine. And, to make things even worse for you, this will be a short entry. I seem to have left my camera's USB cable back in Punta Arenas, so I can't download pictures for few days. Instead, I'll give you a brief outline of what's being going on the last two weeks, and then you can tune in later for the more details.

Over Christmas, I spend seven days hiking the Paine with my guide, Felipe. We had an amazing time! Fantastic weather, good food, good beer and great wine. Rather than do the traditional circuit (as had been planned) or the more commonly hiked "W" we did an extended "W" which included two valleys few non-climbers (read: trekkers) go to. One, the Valle Bader, Felipe had never taken another person to, let alone a client. Simply put, it was incredible. Tough hiking, but incredible.

After an eventful, fun and dramatic New Year's in Puerto Natales, I went to Punta Arenas and then flew, via the spacious DHC-6 (20 passengers, heat is not included) to a chilly and, yes, windy, Puerto Williams on the island of Navarino. This, not Ushuaia (in Argentina across the Beagle Channel) is the most southerly town in the world. From here, I headed out to do the Dientes Circuit, the most southerly trek in the world. And it was also incredible. Wild, remote, crazy weather and oh so beautiful. Trust me, pics will come.

For now, I am hear one more day and then back to Punta Arenas as I make my way up Chile to Santiago and back home. The trekking is done for now, so I get to play normal tourist for a few days.

Wish me luck, and Happy New Year (belated) to all!!

Mike

Advertisement



8th January 2008

I'm jealous
Mike. You are making me want to abandon my family and go travelling again. If only my kids could trek through the mountains without complaining about the wind and cold (and that they're tired and hungry) ... when they're older I'll talk them into it. Enjoy the trip, sounds like a lot of fun.
8th January 2008

pics
sweet trip Mike - where are the pics? how was the weather? A
9th January 2008

less drama, more fun
May the last few days have bit less in the drama category! Looking forward to the pictures of airborn hikers in Patagonia. m.
11th January 2008

love the photos!!
love the pictures you´ve taken mike!!! I´m leaving natales today hope keep coming arround. maybe some day... my best wishes the most beatifull tour leader

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb