Chiloe's Emerald Isles


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Los Lagos » Chiloé Island
May 6th 2011
Published: August 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Puerto Montt to and from Castro, Chiloe, then up past Volcano Puyehue to Bariloche


Seductive, destructive witches and warlocks stalk the forty, Irish-green islands of the Chiloe archipelago, or so they say. Located off the coast of Chile's Lake District, the islands were isolated for centuries, and many are still rarely visited by outsiders. Thus, they've developed their own culture filled with magical tales, a unique dialect and cuisine, and a vernacular architecture of brightly-painted houses on stilts and beautiful, handcrafted, wooden churches. I was up for an adventure!

Big Skies Flurried with Clouds



I'd been in big city Puerto Montt, and after a week of waiting for the clouds to part, I'd finally gotten to see the perfect, snow-capped cone of Volcano Osorno; I was ready to leave. My rolling suitcase flew me down the steep hill to board one of the many buses for a four-hour ride to Chiloe's Isla Grande (Big Island ), the largest island in Chile after Tierra del Fuego.

The journey included a wonderful, bouncing ferry ride through choppy white caps and under shape-shifting clouds compliments of a whipping wind that produced the only sunny day I was to have in my week there. It was mid-May, 2011, and autumn was changing to winter down here in Patagonia; we low-season travelers sometimes have to pay the price of funky weather.

On Isla Grande, we drove through rolling hills and pastures, a verdant green, thanks to the near ceaseless rain and mist. Fat, grazing cows, colorful bee hives and tall, autumn-golden poplars dotted the small farms on the hills, while the island sloped down to the Gulf of Ancud, lined with small fishing villages and colorful wooden boats.

I disembarked at the little bus terminal in Castro, the capital of the islands. While it was by far the largest settlement on the islands, it retained its charming, traditional, painted wooden buildings and small-town feel.

Residencial Marisol and Thrifty, Tasty Island Ways



I headed away from the center for something cheaper than what I'd found online and in my guidebook. I came upon a brightly painted green house with red trim and a flower-filled garden--Residencial Mirasol. An ancient, but very sturdy Marisol and her terror of a terrier greeted me. Chilotas, isolated for so long, have developed their own dialect, and it took me five days to begin to understand Mirasol.

Normally, in season, it would cost US$16 just to share a room. But I used my new technique of proposing $10 if I stayed a week. In this low season, when I was the only person in the place, there was no problem. The room was freezing and damp--just like Chiloe, and I piled the blankets from the two other beds onto mine. There would be no turning over at night, but at least I'd be warm.

The next morning, I descended the creaky wooden stairs for breakfast in the kitchen, the only heated room in the house. The islanders are famously frugal which meant that they purchase very little in stores--lucky for me. Instead of the typical inedible South American breakfast of white bread and margarine, there was island honey, homemade jam and local butter for the freshly-made bread; I eagerly tucked in.

On the wood-burning stove, Marisol and her equally ancient sister, cooked up huge, fabulous-smelling pots of produce--fruit into jam, kale for savory pies-- from the recent harvest for the coming winter. These self-sufficient islanders saved money and ate wonderfully fresh, local foods.

A unique dish of the islands is curanto, made with seafood, meat, sausage, potatoes and anything else they have on hand, and baked a long time in a pot in the ground, a technique learned from the Chilota natives. While the creatures in it looked nasty to me, others swore it was quite tasty.

Chiloe's Palafitos



Castro's main plaza and the upper town were on a promontory which, like all the island towns, dropped steeply down to the waterfront which was lined with the charming palafitos (houses on stilts) for which the islands are famous. They, like all structures in the islands, were covered by thin, wooden shingles in a dazzling variety of geometric patterns and colors for protection from the almost constant rain and drizzle.

Palafitos look like normal, brightly colored, wooden houses on the street side but their backs jut out over bays and estuaries on stilts that serve as mooring for boats when the tide is in. While many are sadly rundown, others have been spruced up and converted into hotels and restaurants.

I spent lovely days walking along the bay past these palafitos and fishing boats as well as longer walks to the peninsula that sits across the bay from Castro. Chiloe means place of seagulls in one of the three indigenous
Achao's Iglesia Santa Maria de LoretoAchao's Iglesia Santa Maria de LoretoAchao's Iglesia Santa Maria de Loreto

upturned-boat ceiling painted blue with gold stars and loads of hand-carved details
languages, and indeed there were tons of seabirds, including rare Patagonian black-necked swans.

Chiloe's UNESCO-listed Churches



Castro's church of San Francisco on the leafy plaza, is one of the largest of the 16 UNESCO World Heritage-designated, wooden churches that dot the archipelago. The church is a faded lemon and lilac with two Gothic towers, a beautifully hand-carved, wood paneled interior, models of many other Chilota wooden churches and loads of flowers. One of my favorite parts was the statue of St. Anthony with baby Jesus, the latter normally scantily clad, but here, wearing a warm, knit sleeper in this chilly clime.

This was the church's fifth incarnation. Like many Chiloe churches and settlements, it had been destroyed twice by English pirates, and then once by fire. Finally, it was leveled by the great Chilean earthquake of 1960, the largest earthquake ever recorded, that had also destroyed most of coastal Chile. However, each time, the church was rebuilt in its original style, albeit with modern touches, such as steel nails this last time.

Spanish conquistadors occupied Chiloe as early as 1567, followed soon by Bavarian Jesuit missionaries and later by Spanish colonists driven off the mainland by the fierce indigenous Mapuche. The Mapuche had stopped both Incan and later Spanish expansion into Patagonia. Thus, for 300 years, Chiloe was the only Spanish settlement in southern Chile; isolated from the mainland, it developed its own traditions, culture and architecture.

Jesuit missionaries first started visiting the islands in 1608 and brought their European, Gothic influence to the ecclesiastical architecture. The churches were built of native woods to resist the humid climate of the islands. Additionally, the maritime heritage of the indigenous people and settlers led to applying boat-building techniques to the churches, so they often had ceilings shaped like overturned boats. The lack of metal led to churches constructed with wooden pegs instead of nails. Additionally, these churches faced the sea with their towers acting as lighthouses for returning boats.

Island Hopping



For several days, I hopped local buses and ferries to nearby towns and islands, seeking out some of these hand-built wooden churches. The little town of Chonchi has one of the best-preserved churches and lots of beautiful wooden homes. The town had gotten rich on the cypress timber industry and many mansions around town and on the plaza were made of this. It was known as the town on three levels with almost impossibly steep streets between the plaza, the upper town and the colorful waterfront with artisan shops, palafitos on stilts and fishing boats.

I also visited Dalcahue and its 1850 church, Nuestra Senora de los Dolores (Our Lady of Sorrows), its plaza with a fishing boat to proclaim its heritage and for kids to clamor over, down to waterfront with its artisan market and excellent museum with artifacts from indigenous tribes and early settlers.


A favorite day jaunt took me on a bus and then a ferry across to island of Quinchao and then a bus Achao, a small, pretty fishing village that serves as the market town for the ten even tinier, barely inhabited islands nearby. It was founded as a Jesuit colony and its church, Santa Maria de Loreto, the oldest on the islands, was built in 1784, and is still held together without nails.

From the outside, the church is plain, and I wasn't sure it would be worth the hassle I endured in finding someone to open it. However, the interior was a dazzling explosion of whimsical designs, hand-carved details and my favorite Gothic blue ceiling with painted stars.

Small Disasters



Life has always been harsh on these windy, rainy islands, and in the 19c, many islanders left, further south into Patagonia to the wild southern Magallanes Province to work on newly established sheep ranches. However, they left their influence there in the many colorful wooden houses in Punto Arenas and Puerto Natales.

I'd hoped to visit and hike the wild, windswept national park on the open Pacific side of the island, but Chiloe's dampness had seeped into my bones and lungs and laid me up. When able to move, I returned to Puerto Montt to catch a long-distance bus back to Bariloche, Argentina, where my Patagonian adventures had begun months earlier.

On the bus to Bariloche, I saw the smoking cone of Chile's Volcano Puyehue, which would soon drastically change my travel plans. But first, I enjoyed a scenic, autumn-leafed tour of the Route of the Seven Lakes Ravishing Route of the Seven Lakes with my dear friend from home, Nancy, and a quick trip with her to Valdivia and Santiago, Chile. Then, I was to return to Bariloche for its snowy winter.

However, on June 4, 2011, the Puyehue Volcano exploded in a massive eruption, spewing ash all over Bariloche and closing airports in South America, South Africa, and Australia before circling back to Chile. I'd left things in Bariloche, but as the Argentine Lake District was under a half meter of ash, I stayed away; it would be nine months, not two weeks, before I'd return. Poor Bariloche and the Lake District lost their winter revenue from the ski season; as for me, thank goodness, I was as ever--flexible!


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



12th August 2014

Chiloe
Loved Chiloe. Love the name too...we (I) even considered naming our daughter Mandalay, Chiloe!
12th August 2014

What's in a name?
Love the name too, but Mandalay will be less mangled and mispronounced--good choice.
12th August 2014
Achao's Iglesia Santa Maria de Loreto

Stunning
The stunning opulence of Chilean and Argentinian churches are wonders to behod. this one is delightfully unique in my reckoning. Gotta eat some more Calafate berries sooner than later me thinks.
12th August 2014
Achao's Iglesia Santa Maria de Loreto

Oh, Patagonia!
I must admit, with you, that my heart is in Patagonia and the lovely lake districts. As a wood worker, you'd salivate at the hand-built details in those Chiloe churches. I've got a few knock-out churches up my sleeve here in Peru that you'll love, too.
12th August 2014

Lovely place!
seems like a nice get away. Curanto sounds good: can't go bad with meat + sausages!!!
12th August 2014

Curanto blues
We'd make a fine pair--you can wolf down the meaties and I'll slurp down the potatoes. Too bad you weren't there to help me out--I would have tried it!
12th August 2014

So many places so little time
South America has so much to offer and we've spent so little time there. Our list of things to see keeps growing. We may have to stop reading your blogs. ha ha. No, you continue to give us great information. Thanks
12th August 2014

Savoring South America
You are so right--S. A. has so much to offer that I've been here for four years and only managed to make it up to southern Peru. But you intrepid travelers are doing a fine job of covering the DC area, so I'm taking your tips for my return.
12th August 2014

Yipee! A blog at last. Well worth waiting for. Love the descriptions, and all those churches, and especially the photos - so much colour. We think Chile is going on the list for our next visit to South America....
12th August 2014

Chilin' in Chile!
Chile is so fab and has so much to offer--it would make a worthy next stop. Glad you liked the photos; it was so gorgeous even with gray days and a dying camera. Maybe they paint their houses so colorfully because it's always gray, however, I don't think that custom would catch on in England or A'dam.
12th August 2014

Stunning!
The colours and light in these photos are amazing. The churches, the houses, the skies, drew me in. Of course, it's one thing to read about the dampness and another to live with it. We live in a rainforest and I can see how the weather can inspire the idea of magic or mysticism - all those shifting mists and clouds. There is a real mournful beauty to it. Thanks!
12th August 2014

Mystic moisture
"...a mournful beauty," well said. Yes, I do think that may be why tropical places are so infused with colorful structures, clothing, etc. But living in a rainforest--that's impressive. I worked for six weeks in Guatemala in the jungle, but I can't imagine doing it long term. You two are hardy!
13th August 2014

So much beauty...
I need to see Chiloe's palafitos for myself - they look amazing; and I want to try curanto! Your gorgeous photos made me realise that I hadn't heard if you've got a new camera yet..?
13th August 2014

So much beauty
Indeed, these green islands were so colorful, beautiful and exotic--not at all like the rest of Chile. This camera was an ultracompact Lumix that I loved, but which didn't last long. I had a Sony compact after that, and still can't decide on a new camera. I want a superzoom that is really light and not too expensive and takes sharp photos. So far, I've not found it. Thanks for asking. Go to Chile!
14th August 2014

Wooden Gothic Churches
Fantastic ceilings... love it. And the colours are amazing....
14th August 2014

Thanks, Paul
I'm glad you liked the colors and churches. It really was an amazing place.
19th August 2014

Wow, the colours!
They really jump at you! Miles away from the grey and browns cities of many European cities. I'd love to go there and see this splendour for myself!
19th August 2014

Wild colors
Thanks, Per-Olaf, I do hope you make it to Chile and amazing South America. I must say that Chiloe is more like Mexico and Cuba in its wild colors than the rest of the Americas. Then, again, we don't have the incredible history that you Europeans do. Happy Malta!
7th September 2014

Interesting reading
We have from time to time been talking about going to Chile ourselves. After reading this blog entry I am sure we will be talking about it again. Thanks for writing about your trip there
7th September 2014

Fabulous Chile!
Southern and central Chile were amazing with gorgeous nature. Even the north with its Atacama desert is beautiful, but my favorite is the south. I do hope you can go!
4th October 2014

Islomania
Thanks for your comment on my Turkish blog, thought I'd return the favour and in the process got quite caught up in your Chilean adventures... a place we haven't got to yet but would love to visit. Being a bit of an island nut, I particularly enjoyed this piece about the islands of the Chiloe archipelago - it sounds wonderful and I love all your colourful photos.... just makes me want to go right away!

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 20; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb