Vinny & Dogs Epic Trek Part 10: Easter Island and the mysterious Moai


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Easter Island
November 15th 2009
Published: November 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, following my blistering trip through Asia, it was time to change continents and make my way to South America. I decided to make a connection in Europe to catch up with a few friends in Germany. Getting to Germany wasn´t too bad. Coming from India, I arrived in shorts, a t-shirt and flip flops. Well Lets just say it was about 27 degrees F. I was wondering why everyone was mean mugging me walking through the airport, but figured it was the shorts, I hope! I spent a week there and cannot tell you how much the hospitality meant to me. I couldn´t find a hotel after the first few days, as there was a huge conference in the area which booked all the rooms in every hotel I called or went to. A friend allowed me to stay with her and she turned out to be a total life saver. Thanks so much *you know who you are*, and if and when I ever get my own place, the door is always open for you! Nothing much happend in Germany, just wandering around as most everyone had to work most days. A few drunken nights, but that is a given with some friends in Germany. The Christmas markets were not yet set up, however on my last days I noticed much of the framework was in place for a completion shortly. As I said I was making my way to South America via Europe, and the connections took me through Madrid, Buenos Aires and Santiago before my final destination of Easter Island. Yes the flights and layovers were ridiculous, but I made it back to this side of the world, sort of.

I set foot on Easter Island on 11NOV around 10PM. The hotel staff (also the owner) was there to pick me up and away we went into the darkness. I found my room, literally a shack, and called home to say hello. I was standing outside and I wish I could convey how unbelievable starry the sky was. The island is located 2100 miles from mainland Chile. When we were arriving, it literally looked like we were going to land in the ocean, as you couldn´t see the island from my window seat. It was pretty insane. I woke up the next day to a beautiful blue sky, rented a scooter, picked up a map and was prepared to explore the island. I made my way around the south side of the island seeing the sights. (I really felt bad for that scooter as I drove it like it was an off road vehicle. I am surprised it took the beating I gave it without breaking down. I do think it was posessed as it kicked me off a few time throughout the day!) It was unbelievable how desolate the places were. When I pulled my two wheeled steed up to most of them, there was no one within miles of me and I had these amazing World Heritage sites all to myself. Not to be selfish or anything, but I got used to not worrying about taking photos and having people in them. It was great! The first few were amazing to see, however they became a bit redundant as many were laying in heaps at various locations throughout the island. They were still very amazing to see and know the story behind them and why they are all toppled over. There was essentially two groups on the island....the long ears and short ears. The long wears enslaved the short ears and forced them to make these huge statues for the leaders or elders of the villages. Over time the complied, but then got tired of it and rebelled. When they rebelled, they forced all the long ears to the northeastern part of the island, where they burned thousands of them in some ditch. Along the way, the short ears pushed over almost all of the moai on the island and tried to decapitate them in the process. This is why many are headless, or pushed over is a result of the rebellion.

The island is fairly tiny and able to be hiked in a day. Many people go to the furthest point and hike back to town. I opted to stay mobile on a bike and had a great time. I met a few Americans in the guesthouse I was staying and we ended up renting a car one day and driving around the island and catching a sunrise before they left. The sunrise wasn't all that impressive, as it was cloudy, but it was nice to have the site to ourselves as it got lighter outside. I took tons of photos and will be getting them up on Facebook when I get a reliable internet connection. The two guys I met left on Sunday and I rented a four wheeler, as the scooter had some trouble getting through mud! That day was great fun plowing through the mud and water. It started raining and started top get a but chilly, but I was already wet and wanted to see a few more sites before packing it in for the afternoon. I found this trecherous place called the two windows.....even if yoiu are looking for it you may miss it. It is nothing but a hole in the ground you have to nearly get on all fours to climb into. Then it is pitch black inside with rocks everywhere. Climbing around in flip flops on jagged rocks is not recommended at this time, of course! But I drove on with 3 other random guys. We made it through thr tough stuff (I was the only one who didn't bash his head on the low ceiling) and we made it to the windows, at the end of two small tunnnels. They were nothing short of holes in the rock wall with a drop off to the rocks and water below. It was truely an awesome sight. Following the ride back to town, some lunch and a somewhat warm shower the sky cleared and the sun shone through. As it was about 8.30 pm I went to see if I could catch the sunset. I was able to get to the standing Moai just north of the town as the sun set. Ity was very nice to see the sunset on my final day on the island. I found out later, it had rained for 3 weeks straight until I arrived on the island. My 5 days were the first days of sun the island had seen in a while. The last two days were overcast most of the day, but it didn't rain too much.

Upon leaving Easter Island I spent a day in Santiago, Chile on my way to La Paz, Bolivia where I am currently. This is the highest capital in the world regarding elevation and walking around I have found myself to be a bit lightheaded as I get used to the elevation. I plan to be here for a few days and maybe head to the Salt Flats here in Bolivia.....I will definitely keep you posted!!! Hope you all are enjoying the blog!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb