Arrival at Easter Island


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Easter Island
October 9th 2007
Published: October 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It is strange feeling, after travelling 2500 miles over nothing but the sea. Absolutely nothing below the plane except blue, both ground and air. 5 and a half hours later of nothingness, a tiny speck of volcanic rock appears. The Boeing descends so low over the sea I was warming up my arms for swimming. Luckily, the pilot was a more confident person than I and we landed on solid surface, a bare 5 metres from the sea.

Welcome to Hanga Roa. The airport is nothing more than a tin shack with two rooms - arrivals and departures. A bare few minutes after the plane emptied, the staff were already herding on the return party and the plane was being readied for departure. I, on the other hand was a proud owner of a flowery garland. A reminder, if one was needed, that I was now in Polynesia rather than the more European mainland Chile. The local people all look very Polynesian, except without the grass skirt bit.

First impression was wonderful. I was enchanted with the Island before I even left the Airport compound. The hotel Gomero is wonderful. My bedroom has a lovely view of the garden and swimming pool. I was welcomed with another garland and a refreshing fresh papaya juice, the best I have ever drunk in my life. I swear.

I hung around the hotel only long enough to unpack, sort out the laundry (how mundane, but the knicker situation was serious - only 1 clean pair left) and photgraph the garlands before I skipped out to explore. Have already visited some Moai just outside Hanga Roa, Ahu Akapu, Ahu Tahai and Ahu Tautira. Tahai contains 3 restored Moai in a stunning position with the sea behind. Very closeby is Ahu Ko Te Riku, a Moai with a topknot and eyeballs. Seeing the Moai for the first time sent chills down my back - they are absolutely stunning and well worth spending 5.5 hours cooped up inside a tin carton, 32,000feet in the air!

Outside this internet cafe is rush hour, Hanga Roa style - a whole 5 cars have gone past in the last fifteen minutes. Actually, the great thing is that it is all so easy to find my way round. It took me no time to find the high street, where I am now from outside the town where the Moai earlier are. My toughest decision tonight will be where to go for a drink and food.

Tomorrow, I have an all-day tour, which should be highly interesting as it covers most of the east side of the Island up to Anakena Beach. I have been told to pack my swimming costume along with a warm jumper. Hmmmm....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb