B-Day #41


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Easter Island » Hanga Roa
August 8th 2012
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -27.1308, -109.342

Since the weather forecast predicted favorable skies i decided to start celebrating early by driving to Ahu Tangariki, the best spot for watching the sunrise. Unfortunately the weathermen are just as unreliable here than anywhere else in the world... But I was lucky enough to have had an excellent guide, Annai who showed me all the secret spots of Rapa Nui and the unique beach called Anakena. Probably the only beach in the world with an archaeological site as a scenic background, the Ahu Nau Nau. This is also suppose to be the spot where King Mata Mata landed and founded the settlement in ancient times. In the afternoon i went to see Ahu Akivi which is the one place on Rapa Nui where the Moai's facing the sea rather then inland. After visiting Rano Raraku and the crater for a last time i drove back to Hanga Roa for my birthday dinner and delicious Chilean wine with my newfound friends 😊

Als der Wetterdienst TEILWEISE wolkig vorraussagte, beschloss ich schon frueh morgens mit feiern zu beginnen und fuhr nach Ahu Tangariki, den besten Ort um den Sonnenaufgang zu sehen. Ungluecklicherweise sind die Wetterfeen hier auch nicht verlaesslicher als irgendwo sonst auf der Welt... Aber ich hatte Glueck mit Annai eine exzellente Fuehrerin dabei gehabt zu haben, welche mir all die verborgenen Orte von Rapa Nui und den einmaligen Strand von Anakena zeigte. Vermutlich der einzige Sandstrand weltweit mit einer archaeologischen Staette als Kulisse, dem Ahu Nau Nau. Dies soll auch der Fleck sein, wo Koenig Mata Mata in alten Zeiten gelandet sein soll um die Insel zu besiedeln. Am Nachmittag fuhr ich dann zum Ahu Akivi, welches der einzige Ort auf Rapa Nui ist, wo die Statuen Richtung Meer schauen und nicht wie alle anderen landeinwaerts. Nach einem letzten Besuch von Rano Raraku und dem Krater machte ich mich auf den Weg zurrueck nach Hanga Roa um meinen Geburtstag mit neuen Freunden und leckeren Wein aus Chile zu feiern 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb