Moving day


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Coquimbo Region
July 30th 2010
Published: September 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The ladies I live with The ladies I live with The ladies I live with

Edita and Carolina
So I have packed my backpacks and my suitcase and I will be going to a new home today. At the new home, there is a mother and daughter around my age. The benefits are they are nice, the neighbor is quiet, the room is bigger, and the bed is comfortable. So basically everything is better. I had a good heart to heart with Senora Nancy and we talked about the move. Apparently she never requested a foreign student, and she was informed about me coming 4 days before I arrived by the director of the school. She was upset when she first found out, but now she was fine with me being there. She didn’t like the manner in which my host teacher said I would be leaving. She told Nancy I was very ill due to the pets (my allergy) and was not comfortable there. A white lie, to get me out of an uncomfortable situation. I am old - I need a comfortable bed, a quiet room, easy access to the bathroom, and food that won’t make me gain 100+ pounds.
I moved into my new home Friday afternoon - the bed is comfortable, the room is quiet,
Mi piezaMi piezaMi pieza

my bedroom
and the people are friendly. We eat lunch next door at the abuelos house - it is usually a 3 course meal. I am now accustomed to eating a lot in the middle of the day - the problem is that I want to nap afterwards, but since I have 1+ hours for lunch, I must teach until 5 or 6pm. In my new house there is a mom, Edita, and a daughter, Carolina, and the 3 of us share a bathroom, so it’s not bad. Edita sells clothes that she buys in Santiago and Carolina is finishing her thesis to become an architect. Neither work at a job outside of the house. Their lifestyle is nice, but still surprises me. They wake up around 9:30, have breakfast, shower, watch some TV, I’m not sure what else, but at 2pm we eat lunch, which can last until anywhere between 3 and 4. We eat lunch next door and they have a cook, who serve us the 3 courses, then she eats in the kitchen. During lunch, we usually watch “India, una historia de amor,” where the main character is named Alibaba and gandi. I am the only person who continues
Las 3Las 3Las 3

the 3 of us.
to find this funny. After lunch the family relaxes a bit more, they do some work, occasionally have tea, and the we eat “once” (tea and white bread + 1 slice of ham or cheese or palta and butter) around 8pm. Then it’s time to watch TV or chat before going to bed around midnight or later. During the week I spend a good deal of time at school. If not I think I would drive myself crazy relaxing so much. However, they are nice people, they are patient with my Spanish, and make me feel welcome here - I can go into their room and hop in bed to watch TV. The first night I felt pretty awkward about this, but now I just make myself comfortable in Carolina’s bed. The only thing that gives me trouble is the ‘califone’ - or the gas apparatus I have to light to get hot water for the shower. It’s easy to use, but when the gas cuts out and the water goes cold, I get cranky. It also bothers me the amount of time people spend relaxing. There are so many beautiful things to see around here they should really 'aprovecha el dia' more often


Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb