La Serena


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Coquimbo Region » La Serena
January 8th 2012
Published: January 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The Journey to La SerenaThe Journey to La SerenaThe Journey to La Serena

Some hills and my socks
A 6-hour bus journey does not sound like fun but the bus ride from Santiago to La Serena was actually pretty awesome. I parked myself right at the front of the bus so that I could get the best views and was definately not disappoined. My fellow passengers seemed less than excited and spent most of the journey asleep so in comparison I must have looked like an excited puppy whipping my head back and forth to check out the surroundings. I was in full-on tourist mode so I even got a couple of photos although sadly they never come out as good as you hope.

One other passenger who was awake however, was an adorable little Chilean girl who I seemed to make friends with despite neither of us understanding anything that the other one said! The highlight of the journey, however, has got to be me being so engrossed in the views that I failed to notice my fruit juice pouring itself all over my trousers. I managed to wash it with my water bottle and the Chilean sun did a quick job of drying it all, but unfortunately this left me with a suspicious looking stain all over the front and back of my trousers. So, as you can imagine, I rolled into La Serena looking like the epitome of class.

I was only in La Serena a couple of days but that gave me plenty of time to stroll along the beach (not really that impressive, I´m not gonna lie), buy a load of jewellery, and go on a night-time tour of the Mamalluca observatory. The skies in this region are some of the clearest in the world so a lot of observatories are located around here. Thankfully the tour was in English, so we got to learn about the planets and constellations, and the telescopes that they have here in Chile including the Very Large Telescope. As the tour guide said, 'Europe has the money, but Chile has the skies'. So I saw Jupiter and the moon and the stars which was incredible. The tour guide even took a photo of the moon on our cameras through the telescope which I thought was a nice touch.

There are some pretty places in La Serena but I think two nights was sufficient to see what I wanted to. So, on Saturday morning I got on the bus to Pisco Elqui which is where I currently am. I´m here for a few days so I will give it its own blog soon but one thing I will say is that it is HOT! And with that tantalising preview I shall leave you now. Ooh the suspense!!

Laura


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

La LunaLa Luna
La Luna

A photo of the moon taken through one of the telescopes at the Mamalluca observatory


9th January 2012
Statues in La Serena

La Luna
A really great picture Laura, but no sign of Wallace or Gromit.
10th January 2012

The Socks
LP, I'm mainly loving your awesome sense of humour an your socks. I feel they definately need to be included in all scenery shots. It's the thread that holds the whole great story together. KG
10th January 2012

Liking stuff
LP, I just "liked" your blog. Is that good? Do you get free stuff? Cash? KG
11th January 2012

Liking stuff
I´m still waiting to receive my free stuff and/or cash but I appreciate that all the same!
11th January 2012

This blog comment/response malarky
LP - Got your response but can not remember my initial, no doubt hilarious, comment.Hope you are having a ball and am awaiting your next post with baited breath. KG

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb