Resting up before the next trip!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Biobío » Concepción
November 10th 2009
Published: November 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

The view of Concepcion from Trianas apartment
After our trip to the North it was time to rest up before our trip to the South. Friday I didn´t do much. I went for a run, showered, ate lunch and caught up on watching Grey´s Anatomy. Saturday was also a pretty lazy day. Christina came over in the afternoon to use the internet. She doesn´t have internet at her house so she usually has to go to an internet cafe. She was uploading pictures and later she talked with her mom on skype. She ended up talking to her mom for a really really long time and it got late. It was too late for collectivos and there aren´t any micros around my neighborhood. Jorge was still up but he couldn´t take her home because he was waiting for a phone call. Christina was trying to get a hold of her host parents but they had went to a birthday party and forgot their cell phone. They would probably be home soon so we just wanted to watch t.v. and wait for her parents to get home. Jorge insisted that she call a taxi. I also asked if she could stay overnight but he said no, that it would be too much work for him. We finally called Sergio and Christina took the taxi home. Jorge informed me that him and my brothers would be gone the next day so I was on my own for lunch.
On Sunday I woke up and decided to go to the mall. Catie and I were chatting on skype and she decided to meet me there. I wanted to get new shoes so we wandered around looking at shoes but I didn´t feel like trying any on. Catie came back to my house and we made lunch. I fried some frozen mini cheese empanadas that I found in the freezer and made the macaroni and cheese that I brought from the US. It was amazing. After a while Catie called her host mom and went home. I spent the rest of the night working on homework and such.
Monday it was back to class. We had class from 10 to 11 and the from 12 to 2. After the first class I went with Christina to get our library cards. We stopped by the humanities building with Hayley so she could get her package. It was full of yummy goodies and she shared with us :D After we got our cards it was time to go back to class. Our teacher had something come up I guess so we had another new teacher. Basically it is a grad student filling in but she did a good job. After class, I went to the centro with Christina. She needed to run some errands. We grabbed a snack and went to the store. We had to be at Profe Triana´s at 4pm because we were throwing Sam a surprise birthday party. I bought some candy to share with everyone. We walked to Triana´s apartment.
Triana´s apartment has rooms up on the top floor that are used for meetings. We went up and decorated the room and waited. Sam came around 5 and she seemed really surprised. We had delicious cake and snacks. It was a lot of fun. After the party, Jess A and I took the micro home. We decided to get off at the mall and wander. We decided to see a movie. I can´t remember the name of the movie right now but it was supposed to be a scary one. It was pretty good and I didn´t predict how it
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

Hola!
ended so that was good. I called Jorge and asked for a ride home since it was dark and I didn´t really want to take a collectivo but he said no. After I got home I talked on skype with Alicia, Bryant and Becca. It was fun but I probably should have went to bed sooner.
Tuesday I had class from 10 to 12. I went home for lunch and spent the afternoon doing homework. Later that night I chatted on skype with my mom and dad. Wednesday I had class from 10 to 12. After class, I went home for lunch since our next class wasn´t until 3. I got really mad because the bus driver wouldn´t give me the student fare. It just makes me so angry! I finally got home, ate and went back to school. After class I went to Christina´s house. It was fun. We didn´t really do any homework like we wanted to but thats not important. I had fun meeting her host parents and I ate cena with them. I took a collectivo from her neighborhood to mine.
Thursday was the day we left for our trip to the South. We had class from 9 to 12 and 12 to 2. Our teacher for our first class was sick with laryngitis so another teacher filled in for her. We got out about an hour early. We just waited around campus until our next class. After the last class, I went home and ate lunch. Thursday was the day Marcela came home from England. Her parents were at the house. She was supposed to get in around 5 or 6. The kids were so excited. She finally arrived a little after 6. Her luggage had been lost and would arrive later. She showered and relaxed a little and then we ate cena with everyone. After cena I finished packing and worked on my blog until it was time to go. Jorge took Jess A and I to the bus station around 10. Our bus left at 11 pm to go to Puerto Montt.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

Sam and Lizzy.. Sam thought they were just going for a run, stopping by Triana´s


Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb