Chillan--Waterfalls & Shangri-La


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Biobío » Chillan
May 22nd 2012
Published: September 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Leaving Patagonia

Pucon, Chillan, Saltos del Lajas, Shangri-La in the Andes

You Get What You Need




I came to little-visited Chillan in Chile's south-central, rainy Bio Bio Region to visit the Saltos del Laja, billed as a little Iguazu (very little), Mexican murals (being restored), and Chillan's ski resort (hostel closed). I was a bit disappointed, but as the philosopher Mick Jagger sings, "You can't always get what you want, but if you try sometimes, you get what you need." Right on, Mick! And lucky me, I was there for vived fall colors and half of my days were sunny--not bad at all!



After a 7-hour journey from Pucon, I rolled into Chillan, finally tearing myself away from Patagonia. How could anything ever match glaciers, snow-capped mountains and quaint alpine lake villages? Well, the mountains around Chillan and then Talca did have their charms, but now I understand why travelers on a time budget just head from Pucon up to Santiago or Valparaiso.



Chillan had been destroyed and rebuilt countless times, earlier from indigenous Mapuche attacks and later from earthquakes. In 1939, an 8.8 earthquake completely flattened the city. It was rebuilt in mid-20c cement--not as dreary as it sounds, at least on a sunny day, since many were painted in fun, wild colors though somewhat faded by the abundant precipitation. Cheering things up were streets lined with autumn-festooned trees and five leafy plazas. There were also several art deco/futuristic buildings from the 1940s, and a modern, spaceship-like cathedral with a towering cross commemorating the thousands who died in that disaster.



After the 1939 quake, when the Chilean Nobel laureate Pablo Neruda was the country's ambassador to Mexico, he got Mexico to donate a school decorated by the Mexican muralists David Alfaro Siqueiros and Xavier Guerreroo. The murals were being restored after damage from central Chile's big 2010 quake, but at least I got to see a couple of gorgeous ones in the foyer. I'll catch more when I get to Mexico.



Chillan is the market town for the surrounding villages, and the covered, central mercado was a riot of colors from the produce and handicrafts (as usual, some handmade, others from China). I ate like a queen (avocados, cilantro, goat cheese) and bought yet another pair of $2 earmuffs since I'm always losing them.



There were also lots of little, greasy spoons in the mercado, but the women promoting them were so aggressive that I retreated to a tranquil, yummy, vegetarian restaurant. These latter are so rare down here, that I feel it's my duty to support them (plus a great excuse to eat in a restaurant).



Thanks to an ancient guidebook, I found a properly affordable hospedaje (pension) that had gotten too funky to be listed in newer books. It housed workers, not travelers, bathrooms had no toilet paper, soap or towels, and my bedroom door wouldn't lock from the inside. Yet I had a room of my own and even a Spanish-channel TV that had fabulous operas and concerts from the NY Met, La Scala and other major venues. I even saw lots from the summer music festival in Fruttiar, Chile, where nothing was offered in my off-season visit the previous year. Now, how am I going to find outdated copies of guidebooks for other countries?


Saltos (Waterfalls) del Laja



Being a huge fan of waterfalls, I didn't want to miss this riff on Iguazu, where I'd spent three fabulous days following trails up, over and around the falls. Here, in this off-season, there was only one bus a day to and from the falls--I'd have eight hours to soak up the beauty. Would this be long enough?



I boarded the full bus, but when it paused at a rather anemic set of cascades, I stayed on with everyone else. Surely, the next stop would be the real falls. Wrong! We pulled back onto the highway, and I knew I was headed an hour away to Los Angeles. Nothing to do but accept it, watch the flat scenery under the dull gray sky and breathe in and out. At Los Angeles, I caught one of the many buses back. Since the falls were small and the day cold and gloomy, I considered myself lucky to have spent several hours in warm buses.



The Rio Laja did indeed plunge 50m over a semi-circular escarpment, which after several days of rain or after the rainy season, would have been mighty impressive. However, now it was neither. The falls could not be compared to Iguazu but were certainly huge compared to anything at home on California's Mediterranean-dry central coast.



Descending the bus, I passed the usual collection of crafts stalls and cafes blaring loud music, and followed the river as it charmingly tumbled down successive pools of rocks. Up close the falls were more impressive, thundering loudly and creating dancing rainbows of mist. A trail led up to a mirador with great views of the languid Rio Laja, the precipice and the water as it shot out over the edge. Here was incredible beauty!



Huge, graceful white herons landed in the river above to fish, and a visitor's foolish, little white dog waded into the stream to bark at them. It was nerve-wracking watching him navigate the river, sometimes falling into deep spots, just meters from the edge of the waterfall. Finally, he got out and shook himself off as if it were nothing; we all looked at each other and laughed with relief.



For hours, I watched the water fall in a myriad of forms as it plunged, bounced off rocks and fell again. Like the drops that let go on the precipice and leaped trustingly into the void, I felt myself letting go of layers and expanding into incredible peace. Falling water worked its magic, and I was so grateful I'd come.


Toward the Andes and Shangri-la




I'd hoped to stay in a hostel in the high Andes in the Valley of the Trancas to visit the Termas de Chillan with its exclusive hot springs and ski resort. However, since the hostel was closed, I opted for a day trip up the valley to the Eco-Park Shangri-la, which indeed, turned out to be heavenly.



The funky little bus was filled with locals laden with huge sacks of flour and market goods. We climbed from the flatlands, past harvested fields, small clusters of adobe houses and up toward the snow-covered Andes which soon loomed ahead. After an hour and a half, I was dropped by a side road and started walking.



The dirt road was lined with autumn-leaved and evergreen southern beech and occasional, mostly-empty holiday homes and rentals. I played with dogs who came out to bark at me, explored side roads down to creeks and chatted with woodworkers who created giant, wild creatures out of oak. I didn't plan to enter the Eco Park since I though it was expensive, so I dawdled enjoying the countryside.



After a couple of hours, the road turned into a steep trail; I realized I was in the park and, at least in this off-season, it was free. Faster and faster I hiked upward to a promised mirador, wishing I hadn't dawdled and had brought my hiking sticks which allow me to fly. After another hour, I was above the tree line in the midst of a fantastic wasteland of black, volcanic rock with a view of a range of snow-covered mountains.



I didn't make it to the mirador as I had to turn around and run down the mountain to catch the last bus out of the valley. However, on the way down, I saw something which had eluded me for a year--a huge, red-headed Andean woodpecker. A perfect end to a very fine day!


Leaving Chillan and A Questionable Hero




Thanks to the TV, I learned that buses leaving Santiago were packed because of a long holiday weekend. My next stop was to be a mountain refuge three hours south of Santiago, probably full for the holiday. I decided to linger.



Chile takes its military heroes seriously; parks are full
autumn plaza near my pensionautumn plaza near my pensionautumn plaza near my pension

with bust of naval hero Arturo Prat
of their statues and most city streets are named after them. This holiday celebrated the late 19c Battle of Iquique in the War of the Pacific in which Chile took lots of land from both Bolivia (cutting off its sea access) and Peru. In Santiago, I'd seen a film on the hero of Iquique, Arturo Prat, who was born near Chillan and mightily celebrated here; however, I found the story rather bizarre.



Prat was the captain of the wooden ship Esmerelda, which was battered by a Peruvian iron-clad. With his sword, he boarded the iron-clad to do hand-to-hand combat (mind you, everyone had guns by this time) and was immediately shot down. I'm sure it's supposed to be a David and Goliath tale, but it seemed a fool's errand to me. Anyway, thanks to him, the pension emptied of the loud workers who went home for the holiday, and I had the place almost to myself.



After the holiday, I traveled north a few hours to Talca, and then caught a little local bus toward the Andes. I was heading to a mountain refuge where hopefully, there would be a bed for me. As
wonderful clouds in this rainy landwonderful clouds in this rainy landwonderful clouds in this rainy land

leaving Chillan for Talca
it turned out, there was a bed, dogs and hikes; time, like the mountains, would stretch into the distance.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

giant tree person of native oakgiant tree person of native oak
giant tree person of native oak

great wood artists in Shangri-La Valley
horse and buggy in front of bus terminalhorse and buggy in front of bus terminal
horse and buggy in front of bus terminal

I love the South American horses and buggies


23rd September 2012

Autumn Colours
Love all of those wonderfully coloured trees in so many of your photos - definitely my favourite season of the year.
23rd September 2012

Colored trees!
Thanks, Shane, glad you like those amazing trees, too. For me, they're especially amazing since I don't have them in central California, and maybe you don't either in Brisbane. Oh the joy of traveling!
23rd September 2012

Which photo to comment on?
I couldn't choose between the gorgeous waterfalls and artistic clouds. Your last few blogs have had some great photos -- a lot like paint on canvas. Nature is a work of art, isn't it? Also loved one of your earlier blogs on the pup you took care of, so sweet. :)
23rd September 2012

Waterfalls, clouds and pups
Thanks so much for the kind words, Michelle! I'm a bit of a space cadet and love staring at waterfalls and clouds. Oh, to have more than a point and shoot, so I could do clever things with them. Glad you liked me little pup, too. She's so in my heart still.
24th September 2012

Mick is a philosopher!
We always end up where we need to be even if it is not where we thought we were going. The vivid colors are amazing. I love hearing about the herons and the woodpecker. I'm not really a birder but after the trip to Iceland and the Faroe Islands my interest has increased.
24th September 2012

Birds and being open
Glad you liked the heron and woodpecker! I'm not a birder either, but I think guys like this or like your puffins can open us up to possibilities. Wonder if Mick has a song about unexpected possibilities and openings?
26th September 2012
old painted wooden house

YOUR SHANGRI-LA
Free as a bird...extolling the beauty around you...you'd think you were in Heaven...but no...just being Tara!
26th September 2012
old painted wooden house

free as a bird
Thanks, so much David! Indeed, I have lived most of my life pretty free as a bird. Almost always worked only part-time, and now as a long-time traveler, I can flutter where the breeze takes me. I love being Tara!
1st April 2014

Day trips from Chillan
Hi there, thanks for the info in your blog. I just wondered if you could clarify - how easy is it to do day-trips to Shangrila and laja falls from Chillan itself? Is it just something we can just rock up in Chillan and sort out or do we need to book in advance? Thanks!
2nd April 2014

easy day trips
Shangrila is a fab day trip--catch one of many the buses from near the mercado--make sure to learn when the last one is. Waterfalls trickier--bus from the terminal; I ended up staying there about 8 hours because of bus times, but i still loved it. Enjoy!
3rd April 2014

Thank you
Thanks for the info and for getting back to me so quickly!

Tot: 0.432s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 39; qc: 181; dbt: 0.236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb