Moving Like A Runaway Criminal


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Atacama » Chañaral
April 2nd 2009
Published: April 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Pan de AzucarPan de AzucarPan de Azucar

Beautiful!
What's up, kids? Been a while since my last blog. Since then I've been to Uruguay, back to Argentina, and then now in Chile. So, you'll notice that my photos are a compilation of these travels. Hope you like.

Now I am traveling on my own. Been enjoying the experience again. After Uruguay I returned to Buenos Aires to meet up with my friend, Florian (Deutsch). We hung out for a couple of days. The second day hitting a dance club. Yes, what you hear is true. Germans like their techno dance clubs (poonchie poonchie music as Florian puts it). Had a good time. Although, Argentinian fems are a bit snobby. Whatever.

I moved westward visiting Cordoba and Mendoza. While in Cordoba, I visited the small town where "Che" grew up. His childhood home was turned into a museum. It was interesting to learn more about this guy. He didn't seem like such a bad person. He grew up in a middle-class family and studied medicine. He was a straight arrow until his travels through South America, Central America, and Mexico opened his eyes on how the poor folk live. It changed him completely. The rest is history. Got to see his bicycle and motorbike which he traveled the Americas in. That was cool!

Came to Chile and visited Santiago. Unfortunately, this city is just a big city with not many interesting things to do. I visited a couple of museums, which were alright. However, I did get to drink some "terremotos". Some sort of wine drink with ice cream. Drank three and got fucked up. Went out with some dudes from my hostel and Christian, who works at the hostel and introduced us to that toxic drink. Had a good time partying.

I made my way up north to Chañaral, where I visited Pan de Azucar National Park. This place was increadible! Spent the whole day there. Mountain biked to the Mirador where I had an awesome view of the island and coastline. Got confronted by some wild foxes as I was eating my lunch. They were cute. I gave them some chips. They barked at me a couple of times wanting more. I also got to see some wild llama-like animals called "huanacos" (sorry don't know the English name). I spend the whole day at the park. Awesome awesome place!

Travelers: If you're visiting Pan de Azucar, here's info for an affordable guide. Other places where too expensive.
Tourismo Chango
Guide: Jose Luis Aranda
E-mail: changoturismo@hotmail.com
Phone: 09-6486880

From here I'm headed to San Pedro de Atacama. I hear it's a good place for adventures. We shall see!

keep it real,
alex





Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

UruguayUruguay
Uruguay

A brick in....
Buenos Aires Part IIBuenos Aires Part II
Buenos Aires Part II

Met up with my boy, Florian again, and some of his buddies.
CheChe
Che

This my friends is the original motorbike "Che" rode in throughout South America when he wrote "Motorcycle Diaries". Fuckin' cool.
CheChe
Che

A pic of "Che" and Castro in a Mexican jail.


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb