The Volcano and New Years


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Villarrica Volcano
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I left Santiago and headed straight to Pucon for New Years. I figured that while I was there I may as well Climb the Volcan Villarrica. So on New years eve I went with a group for an all day hike up to the top.. The view was amazing, it was to bad smoke was so thick on that day we could not see the lava. After the Climb I returned to the hostel for a huge BBQ (its hot down here) then went to the Lake to see the fireworks. I know I am a little late getting this blog up, I am trying..... I hope everyone had a Great New Years..


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The VolcanoThe Volcano
The Volcano

This is a view from the town of Pucon..
Pit stopPit stop
Pit stop

This was the first stop on the long hike to the top of the volcano..
Ants Ants
Ants

All the people trying to get to the top look like a trail of Ants
ICEICE
ICE

I just liked how it looked...
Jim Vs the VolcanoJim Vs the Volcano
Jim Vs the Volcano

I made it, and all I can smell is sulfur..
New Years EveNew Years Eve
New Years Eve

I was staying at this little hostel where the owner put on a Huge BBQ for the guest. Its was so good and just had a blast..
MidnightMidnight
Midnight

The lake front was crazy for new years.
NYENYE
NYE

All the people on the beach.. I wish this Pic showed what it was like..


21st January 2008

Hey
Delighted to see you in the pics! looks fab! x
15th February 2008

WOW!
Wow! I havnt been on your blog in like a month or so. I am delighted to see how cool your new years seemed! You will defeneatly have so many great stories to tell, but the memories are the ones who will stay forever. This is priceless. You dont even know how jealous I am of you Jim!!! :) Don't be too down by the loneliness (even tho' you seem to always have people around u!) This is the trip of your life! Smooches Veronique

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb