Riding and Conquering in the Country


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Pucón
November 16th 2008
Published: November 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

One afternoon, I decided, reluctantly, to do some horse riding, I have not been horse riding for two to three years because of almost from having a serious accident on a horse whilst cantering in North Wales, UK. The experience affected my confidence (especially with cantering) and for a long time I had been put off doing the activity. However, the main reason, for choosing horse riding was to admire the great outdoors Pucon has to offer and I was not disappointed. I was picked up from my hostel and we made our way to the farm, crossing the Rio Trancura, where we did our trek. I rode with a New Zealand couple (Hamish & Norma), an American couple and a South African guy. Alejandra from Antilco, a horse trekking company, was our guide. It was a nice small group. We rode in stunning scenery going through the Mapuche Indian Community, Quelhue, and riding along Rios Trancura and Luicura. We saw the three volcanoes of Parque Nacional Villarrica. The ride was enjoyable although my confidence was challenged when we cantered at stages of our trek but I compromised doing the trotting (as I had to keep up with the group). My
On our way!On our way!On our way!

About to cross Rio Trancura.
confidence grew throughout the ride and at the very end, I enjoyed the trotting and bit of cantering. We rode in challenging terrain especially forests on narrow trails. My horse was a good one to ride and easy to control, which helped me throughout. We stopped midway for a break and it was nice taking in all the scenery around us. I must say I was glad to get off the horse when we returned as my upper legs and bum were aching but I felt great conquering my fears from a past horse riding experience. Afterwards, I rewarded myself with a cold beer and takeaway pizza.






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

AlejandraAlejandra
Alejandra

Our Guide
Volcan VillarricaVolcan Villarrica
Volcan Villarrica

From our trek.
Us!Us!
Us!

Me with the group.


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb