Pucon


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Pucón
November 13th 2006
Published: November 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Pucon HotelPucon HotelPucon Hotel

The gang in Pucon
I met up with my tour group on the first day and we arrived in Pucon late in the afternoon... a small resort town which sits at the base of a massive active volcano. Not a major party town but me and jay (room mate for this leg of the tour) organised ourselves with some tinnies and started drinking early. Basically Chile is famous for it´s seafood and wine so we had plenty of both.

The next day we climbed the volcano...as usual i was a bit unprepared... as the average age of my tour group is around 30 i didn´t expect this to be some crazy hike. so we rock up at the base camp that morning and they start hooking us up with ice axes metal spikes for our boots etc. I thought it was a bit over kill but took all the gear anyway. It wasn´t till we got off the chair lift at the start of our climb about 1700m elevation when i regreated not packing a decent jumper, water or food like everybody else did. Anyways the climb turned out pretty cool we didn´t reach the top because it was too over cast but it
Volcano VillicararraVolcano VillicararraVolcano Villicararra

View from the middle of the Volcano
was a pretty mad day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Volcano and meVolcano and me
Volcano and me

Pic of me with my treckking gear
slidingsliding
sliding

sliding down the volcano on our arses
random statuerandom statue
random statue

random statue in pucon


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb