Bussing Calama


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Antofagasta Region » Calama
April 12th 2009
Published: April 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I bought a bus ticket to Calama with Kenny Bus. Upon finding the seat, I realised the seat wasn't a 'cama' (first class) as the saleswoman had promised. She had cunningly said 10000 pesos for Semi-cama (more like business/economy class), and 12000 pesos for Cama. Because what I saw, the whole BUS was semi-cama. I'd been cheated. Silvita's devil side awoke and I wasn't about to be taken for a ride. I wanted my 2000 pesos back (a whole 3 euros, mind you, but that wasn't the point). I was annoyed beyond words.

As the bus pulled out of the driveway, with my luggage but not me on it, I got on and challenged the bus assistant. Despite my lack of Spanish, I wasn't going to let this slide and challenged him. This is roughly how it went:

Silvita: Senor, la senora de Kenny Bus a dice que 10000 pesos este para semi-cama, y 12000 pesos este para cama.
Senor: Todos bus es semi-cama (well, he did his part in perfect spanish, which I can't repeat)
Silvita: Si! Yo miro! Pero, porque elle dice si es no correcto! Por favor, mi vuelta los 2000 pesos.
Senor: Todos bus es semi-cama. (as if I hadn't heard him the first time and were blind).

This unsuccessful one-way argument went on for about 20 seconds longer when one of the other Chilean passengers tapped me on the shoulder and suggested what I already knew. That it was pointless.

He was right.

The Chileans must have about the stupidest bus system available. Good buses, stupid system. They don't have CENTRAL bus terminals, like normal countries (even like Paraguay), they have 'terminal' for each bus company - often kilometers apart! So to do your homework (comparing ticket prices, bus schedules ... ) I have to travel all over the city. So there you have it. Here a comparison of the bus systems I have come across in Latin America:

1. BEST: Mexico
1 terminal, a one stop shop: One counter, and one attendant that will give you ALL the options of all the buses to the destination.

2. OK: Argentina/Bolivia/Peru
1 terminal, different shops/booths for each bus company. You have to do the running and shop around ... but at least it's in ONE terminal!

3. Worst: Chile
The bus got into Calama at stupid o'clock (3.30am). Left me at the terminal (read: a closed and deserted shop on a road. What was I to do!






Advertisement



17th April 2009

Mexican Buses
Some places in mexico have 1 terminal, others have 2 (north and south) and again others have a terminal per Bus Line. And the 1 terminal places all had separate counters per bus line (like and airport).
23rd April 2009

condoricosas
most cities have a central bus station for all interurban buses, with a few exceptions, notably, two of the cities you visited. just bad luck i guess. happy trails!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb