On Tour


Advertisement
Published: May 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well it is day 3 of my Chile tour and I am in Bahia Inglesa in northern Chile. So far unfortunately, despite the fact that I am in the middle of a desert, the weather has been consistently cool and cloudy.
Day 1 was fairly uneventful really (pretty much just travel) but yesterday was pretty cool. We travelled out to sea in a small boat to the islands of the Humboldt Penguin Nacional Reserve.
The trip out was freezing but once we got there it was all worth it. I saw:
Humboldt Penguins, 3 types of Cormorants, Gannets, 2 types of Vultures, loads of Sea Lions, 2 Sea Otters and many small birds.
En route, we were driving through the desert when there was a road sign saying that there could be Vicuñas (a wild relative of Llamas and Alpacas) crossing. Of course, I assumed this to be like the Kangaroo signs at home, ie you never really see any. Some 3 seconds later, I spotted 2 about 100 metres away and later on saw another 4 or so!
We are off to Antofagasta tomorrow across the driest, bleakest part of the Atacama desert and hopefully I will find somewhere in the next couple of days where I can post some of my photos.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb