Testing the Hypothesis


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil
October 18th 2011
Published: October 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Brazilian RealsBrazilian RealsBrazilian Reals

I broke into my foreign currency collection for some pocket money.
Over the years when someone has found out that I have traveled to so many different places the inevitable question follows, “Which country is the favorite one that you’ve been to?” I have always answered Brazil. The memories of my 2005 trip to Rio de Janeiro still bring a smile to my face and produce feelings of warm sun draped days. But is “Brazil” really my favorite country to travel to? I have after all only been to Rio and only for a week. Maybe it’s just that city that I loved. With that in mind I have decided that it is time to find out. I figure that two months of travel around that country will do the trick.

I leave tomorrow night. It seems like the perfect time to go to Brazil. The World Cup will be there in 2014 and the Summer Olympics will be hosted in Rio in 2016. So I figute the Brazilians will be working to put there best face forward. I will start in Sao Paulo, and then head to Rio. Then I will probably journey up the coast toward Salvador. After that? Who knows. I say that because just like Colombia I am traveling with out a real idea of how my trip will go. I plan on being pulled along by whim and chance. I could wind up traveling down the Amazon River dodging piranhas, joining a traveling carnival, or maybe even drinking Caipirinhas in the same bar in Sao Paulo for 8 straight weeks. As my friends can attest, while Tommy No Papers may have grown older he has by no means grown wiser.


I am going to try to stay up to date and add journal entries periodically while I am in Brazil. However, I don’t know how often I will be near a computer or how long my dodgy camera will keep functioning. So this could be much ado about nothing. Stay tuned.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.661s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 25; qc: 113; dbt: 0.151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.3mb