After Sao Paulo


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil
September 25th 2005
Published: September 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

After the visa we were really (and I mean really, really) happy to leave São Paulo. I still can´t understand what 20 million people are doing in that place: breathing CO2, spending hours stuck in traffic to get anywhere, hearing buses and trucks hunking and burning millions of gallons of fuel while painting the sky brown - 24/7.

The following two weeks were very relaxing, spending time with my family and speaking some Portuguese with familiar faces. By the way, very relaxing for me, not for Faith. She had to spend time with my family and speak Portuguese with unfamiliar faces. We went to a flower festival in a town close to São Paulo, then we spent five days at my gramma´s place in the country side of my state and finally another five days in Belo Horizonte, my home town. Faith did an amazing job dealing with my family and spoke a lot of Portuguese. In the end she threatened me with a knife to leave the town immeadiately to go to a beach in Rio where she could relax.

Fearing for my life we went to Ilha Grande, an island 90 minutes by boat off the coast of the state of Rio. It was amazing, the deatils will come on a future entry.

Some important info: I got my ticket to SF (yes, AG, I´m coming back!). I leave Brazil on Tuesday the 27th and get there on the 28th, after stoping in São Paulo, DC and Boston. That´s some milleage there. By the way, I have to change airports in São Paulo. No, not airplanes, airPORTS. During rush hour.

Faith left last Tuesday. I dropped her off at the airport in Rio after spending some 2 hours in a traffic jam to finally get a couple of shirts for Faith´s cousins. She is in Providence - RI with her brother and is coming to SF on Sunday Oct 02. Hopefully I´ll already have an apartment then.



Advertisement



4th October 2005

$$$
I still can´t understand what 20 million people are doing in that place ONLY IN IT FOR THE MONEY, DUDE! that's all they care about... são paulo's nice, though, if you know where to go and can pay for it (nightlife, art, bookstores, and most of all, restaurants)

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb