The Saborido Family


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo » São Paulo
June 19th 2008
Published: June 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Here are some pictures of the family that I am staying with. The mother, is Marlida and the father is Neil and they have two kids, a son Juan Pedro who they call “Petrusco” about to turn 3 and a daughter Maria Isabelle age 6. Neil is a pastor at a church near their home and Marlida stays home with Petrusco during the day. Each morning when I wake up, Marlida has set out coffee and bread for me to have for breakfast and each night when I return she had made dinner. All the food so far has been terrific. Normally when I come home in the evening there is another boy over, Matteo, who Marlida said has been coming over each day after school until his parents come home from work. Matteo and Isabelle are always pointing to random objects in the house or acting out zoo animals and saying the Portuguese word for it while I say back the English word. They seem to really enjoy this because they are both learning English in school and get to practice what they learned, but it is really helpful for me also.

Petrusco is absolutely adorable. I don’t think
kids after schoolkids after schoolkids after school

Petrusco in the front, Matteo in green and Maria
he understands yet that I have NO clue what he is saying even though Marlida and Neil always are telling him “ela fala ingles não Portuguese.” If I am just sitting on the couch or on the computer he will run up to me with a big smile and say “Angela, Angela (they pronounce my name like aunj-je-la)….” then ramble off something in Portuguese and all I can do is look at him and smile and nod. I took a picture of him with his guitar because I just thought it was too cute. When Neil is practicing his guitar and singing, Petrusco will pick up his little guitar and play and sing loudly with his dad. Even in worship last night in church Petrusco had his guitar trying to play along with all of the music.

Last night was the first time I attended church with the family and I was just blown away by how nice everyone was. One girl at the church speaks English fairly well and Marlida asked the girl to sit next to me and translate as much as she could. Literally throughout the entire service she was translating just so that I had an idea of what the sermon was all about. I actually felt bad about it because I thought that it was a lot of work for her but she insisted on doing it. At the end of the service Neil got up to give the final announcements and told the congregation that I was visiting from the United States and I only know 2 words in Portugues, “Oi” and “bon noite.” After the service a bunch of people came up to be to say hello and welcome and all of them said very slowly “O-i, b-o-n n-o-i-t-e.” hah…I thought is was so funny. It is a fantastic group of people.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



20th June 2008

Amazing!!
The family looks amazing and extremely nice and fun. You seem to be having an incredible life experience there!!! I am kind of jealous. Why would you want to even come to my pool party???? On a side note: what exactly do you do at work?? Write blogs all day??? I suppose that could be a fantastic job. :) Enjoy
23rd June 2008

is that Brazilian Scrabble?
28th June 2008

Scrabble?
Char, if that is Brazilian scrabble, Ange had better hope for a lot of O's I's N's and E's her limited vocab will make for a long boring game. Perhaps she can play against Petrusco.... he can't spell either. PC

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb