Geckos on the loose at Armacao Beach....


Advertisement
Published: April 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Nearing paradiseNearing paradiseNearing paradise

Lagoa de Leste beach
After numerous visits to beaches to which I've simply turned up my nose and instantly dismissed, getting to Armacao Beach on Santa Catarina Island in Brazil was a most refreshing surprise. This was an island paradise of the highest order. Everything about the place was just perfect.

It was undeveloped enough to preserve an isolated and very laid-back feel, but at the same time had enough good cheap food options to keep me very well fed. Top of the list was the local pizza buffet which had some amazing pizzas, most notably the chocolate pizzas with ice-cream they served for dessert. I'm not normally much of a sweet-tooth but these were absolutely incredible.

Upon arrival at Bell's Company Hostel, the first person I met when I walked in was 'Gecko', the bloke who managed the place. I could tell from the start that it was very different from any other I'd stayed at, but over the next week I came to understand how and why. The first night I was there was Karaoke Night, although I didn't perform any of my timeless hits or signature tunes. I couldn't. No-one could.

Without exaggerating, Gecko would have belted out
Getting closerGetting closerGetting closer

Lagoa de Leste
at least 35 consecutive songs in two hours of power. He wasn't a great singer mind you. In fact, he was close to the worst singer I have ever heard who can actually hold a tune (or at least go close). Despite my Kyle Sandilands-like appraisal of Gecko's level of talent, his repertoir was impressive - he butchered everyone from U2 to Shakira, from The Beatles to Guns 'n' Roses, and everyone in between.

Making the whole situation even more humourous was the scene in which this marathon session took place. It wasn't as though Gecko was performing to a throng of loud, rowdy, yet adoring drunkards. The hostel was pretty quiet and those of us who were there were sitting 15m away on the deck overlooking the beach having a few quiet (and sinfully cheap) cocktails, as Gecko passionately belted out track after track to himself with impressive gusto. Apparently Karaoke Night is supposed to be a weekly thing, so I couldn't help but chuckle to myself when I saw him setting the equipment up two nights later. Once again, he seranaded us into the wee hours of the morning.

Despite the small numbers at the hostel,
A colourful fellowA colourful fellowA colourful fellow

Some of the locals weren't all that friendly
there was some great craic to be had whilst there, with two groups of three Poms each (Jake, Will and Amy from London; and Ed, Simon and Jack from Surrey), an Irish guy called Niall, and Graham, Gecko's best mate from Jamaica, keeping the laughs flowing all night. Ed, Simon and Jack were probably the funniest blokes I've met since I left home. They were fresh out of private (or being England I should say 'public') school in the south, and therefore spoke with very proper accents. This only made it even funnier that they were in fact a bunch of absolute larrikins, positively dripping in acidic English wit. I am hoping to go on a boat trip with them for a few days when I'm in the UK in September. The main danger I would face if this took place would be my sides splitting.

Readers may notice that there's a lot more pictures on this entry than most, and that's because writing about the beauty of the place is pretty pointless. You will no doubt get the idea from the pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Amazing coloursAmazing colours
Amazing colours

Matadeiro Beach
A place in the shadeA place in the shade
A place in the shade

Looking along Matadeiro Beach
A very serious encounterA very serious encounter
A very serious encounter

We played some 'beach volleyball'
Beware the strict dress codeBeware the strict dress code
Beware the strict dress code

The local bar at Matadeiro Beach
So much better when the sun was shiningSo much better when the sun was shining
So much better when the sun was shining

Looking back towards Armacao Beach from above Matadeiro
Se peacefulSe peaceful
Se peaceful

The river that seperated Armacao and Matadeiro Beaches
Room with a viewRoom with a view
Room with a view

The locals were pretty chilled out
Living it up in the sunLiving it up in the sun
Living it up in the sun

Looking back across to Armacao Beach
The crew on the bluffThe crew on the bluff
The crew on the bluff

Looking back down towards the river mouth
Sun, sand and wavesSun, sand and waves
Sun, sand and waves

Looking across to Matadeiro Beach
Good times at Bell's CompanyGood times at Bell's Company
Good times at Bell's Company

HJT, Ed, Sally, Niall and Simon


Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb