2014 World Cup - Day 9 - Brazil vs Chile


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Santa Catarina » Blumenau
June 28th 2014
Published: June 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today was a big day for Brazil. We were up against Chile for a spot in the quarter-finals. Historically, Brazil has always fared well against Chile, but Chile has a young group of players that are playing very well together. They were in a group with Holland and Spain and qualified to the Round of 16, so that in itself is quite a feat. In fact, they beat the defending champions 2-0.

Brazil’s coach has been praising Chile for years, and has always said they were dangerous and wanted to avoid them in the tournament. Here in Blumenau, everyone was counting on a 3-1 or 4-1 game, which was a common score line. I thought this was going to be a very difficult game in large part because they are also from/in South America, and thus don’t fear us like most countries do. There’s a bit of a rivalry there. When their National Anthem is played, their fans also continue singing long past the music, which must also fuel and give their players confidence.

I watched the game at my uncle’s house with my grandmother, cousins and their children. There was a lot going on, kids running around, and we were all apprehensive. Brazil played nervous throughout the entire game. I thought the nervousness was going to go away after our debut in the tournament against Croatia; I think it’s here to stay for good. Chile played disciplined defense, and Brazil struggled with the pressure. The stadium was full of yellow jerseys, but you could sense the game was not quite going the way we all hoped. The other thing not going our way was the English referee. He seemed determined to make our lives a little more difficult than it already was going to be. Little calls seemed to always go the wrong way, which always end up frustrating players and fans as the game progresses.

We took the lead on a corner kick a little while into the game. Still, nothing was guaranteed. Just before halftime, we turned the ball over in our end and in matter of seconds Chile capitalized. A silly goal to make it 1-1. Chile hunted Neymar throughout the game, and the knock he took on his knee early in the game appeared to have slowed him down a bit. Fred was invisible as per usual, Oscar even more, Fernandinho and Luis Gustavo were struggling to control the midfield. It was tough to watch. Hulk appeared to have scored a goal late in the game but the ref called it off due to a hand ball, and then gave him a yellow card. Giving him the card meant he did it on purpose; watching the replay, you can see it was a tough call to make, but it was not done on purpose. You could argue it was not a hand ball because Hulk's frame is wider than most and the ball appeared to have hit his shoulder/chest. One TV angle gave you one impression while the next one changed your mind.

After 90, the game ended 1-1. To overtime we went, and that’s never fun. I was pretty nervous, which is not usually the case. I played with the kids during the breaks to get my mind off the game. Nothing much happened in overtime other than a shot from Chile’s forward that hit the crossbar. Our dream could have been over right there, 2 minutes from time. On to penalties.

Everyone watching was super nervous, and we screamed at every goal and every stop. In the end, Brazil’s goalie saved 2 shots and a third hit the post, this after Brazil missing the net on one and their goalie saving the other. 3-2 Brazil on PKs, on to the quarter-finals we go.

You could sense the immense pressure on the players, and the anxiety on the part of the fan base. I cannot imagine what it’s like to play a World Cup at home playing for Brazil no less. The heart must race a on every pass and every touch of the ball. If we are to do anything in this World Cup, we will have to improve, or Colombia is going to send us packing next Friday. I need Brazil to win one more game in order for me to see them play live. That would be something else. It would be awesome to see the singing of the National Anthem live in the stadium, I wonder how it compares to watching it on TV.

In the evening, I went to our old tennis club to see my cousins’ kids take part in a traditional Brazilian festivity/party. There, I ran into a few friends from way back in the day, guys I grew up playing tennis with. It’s an odd feeling talking to someone who was 8 or 9 when we left and then they are there with their own kids. How time flies.

We arrived home at midnight, packed my stuff and went to sleep.



My plan for tomorrow was to just relax and head to the airport around 3:00, but my cousin Luiz invited me for lunch, then my cousin Marco offered to drive me to the airport, and then I arranged to see family friends in the morning. In matter of minutes, I got busy again. I want to do it all as it means I have more time with my cousin’s kids, with my grandmother and with Marco, all I have to do is piece the puzzle together and figure out how to get to where I need to be. My grandmother also wants to show me her apartment. Then I’m off to Brasilia (via Sao Paulo) for the France vs Nigeria game.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb