Bingo, bingo and more bingo


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro
May 19th 2006
Published: May 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Had a pretty good week teaching - although to be fair, not a lot of teaching was done. On Monday afternoon I should have had two classes but as the guy that runs the project was off sick they had to lock up the centre where I teach. I ended up playing hide-and-seek and blind man´s buff for 2 hours instead. The kids were great although I had to tell them to calm down as the toy fighting was getting a little out of hand.

We also had a bit of trouble from 3 boys that I´d never seen before. My lot were playing quite happily until they came along and tried to pick a fight with Alexandre. I had to step in the middle of it as they were determined to give him a kick in. It wasn´t too bad though as they were half my size! However, we decided to call it a day and I had to walk him to the bus stop as he didn´t want to go on his own. I now walk him every day so I think I´m now officially his best friend.

Tuesday class was cancelled and Wednesday was bingo day.
AlanAlanAlan

Don´t let the halo fool you.
Although I was very torn as the Champion´s League Final was on at the same time I was supposed to have a class. I did think about not going. However, my conscience wouldn´t let me sit in the pub and watch the footy as I´d promised the kids we´d play bingo. Not sure why I keep playing this though as it always ends up in a riot. They enjoy it though and my class on Thursday morning weren´t impressed that we weren´t playing it again and took the huff. It now seems to be that every Wednesday afternoon and Thursday morning will be spent playing bingo.

Wednesday night was the second leg of the semi-final of the Copa Brasil. Vasco won and are playing Flamengo in the final. However, some poor Vasco fan is now in hospital with a broken pelvis and a very sore head amongst other things. He fell over the top tier of the stand onto the concrete terracing below.

The weather has been pretty good and we spent most of Sunday on the beach. However, the past two days it´s not stopped raining. It wouldn´t be too bad if it was just a shower
Iziel & EdmilsonIziel & EdmilsonIziel & Edmilson

Generally how my classes finish at the end of the day!
now and again but it´s torrential. I´ve attached a nice rainy day pic though just to make you all feel better.

I´ve added some pics of my avid bingo fans. More to follow, I´m sure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

BingoBingo
Bingo

How I spend every Wednesday afternoon.
Captive AudienceCaptive Audience
Captive Audience

These boys love their bingo.
AlexandreAlexandre
Alexandre

Affectionately nicknamed Ronaldinho by his mates!


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb