Staying with my Mum´s Cousin


Advertisement
Published: April 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sunday 27th
So that was my last night at Gaynor's and after making sure that I had everything including my mosquito net we headed off to church. Another beautiful day as we stuffed my bags into Gaynor's car. The church was busier than last week and included the chaplain/some of the crew of a British warship en route to Argentina. They're away from home for 7 months and I realise that tomorrow I've been away 7 months, but also that I'm nearly at the end!

After church say goodbye to Gaynor then head back to Roy & Noreen's where I'll be for a couple of nights. After lunch we look through photos of more of my extended family plus some photos from the 1940s Noreen has tracked down. After tea go to bed about 9 as still fighting off a headache.

Monday 28th
Awake after about 10 hours of sleep and the headache has faded if not gone. Spend some time reading/on the internet then we head off. First stop Freguesia where I find a bag for R$20 (about GBP7). Plan to head to Barra shopping but the traffic is crazy and a 10 minute journey looks like it will take an hour so at Cidade de Deus (made infamous in the film City of God) we turn back to Freguesia and the Center Shopping Rio. We have a couple of hours there finding odds and ends, having Arab fast-food for lunch, topping off with a Bob's Burger Ovalmaltine milkshake! Next stop the favela where Roy & Noreen work. Feels wrong to take too many photos inside, but interesting to see how so many live, squashed into living spaces. Head back to the house where spend most of the afternoon on the computer, backing up more photos, uploading blog photos and using the new chat function on Facebook. After dinner have the fun of packing my bags... Think each bag is now about 15kg! To sleep as need to get up 530am again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb