Let the journey begin!


Advertisement
Published: March 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well we’re finally here. Months of talking and planning are finally over. Now it’s time to sit back and enjoy the ride. Our 9 month cultural development course has begun!

Dublin
We woke up at 4:00am having to catch the shuttle bus at 4:30am to the airport. One problem though. I wasn’t feeling good. In fact I was feeling real bad. For the first time in my life I got a stomach bug. I honestly cant ever remember getting one before. I tried to deny it but soon I was getting fairly sick down the toilet. Both my parents had caught the bug over the last few days and were forced to stay in bed it was so bad. This obviously couldn’t happen to me. I thought once I had got sick maybe that was it but unfortunately at 4:27am as we were leaving to get the bus I had to kneel at the throne again. Michelle held the bus while I pondered what kind of a journey lay ahead. We checked in and I had to rush to the bathroom again. This continued a few times before the flight, on the flight and after the flight to Heathrow. It was also starting to make its way out the other end too (sorry for being disgusting but if you are going to get a proper feel for our trip you have got to know how we feel!) and giving me very short notice as well! Luckily though after checking in at Heathrow for our onward flight my stomach started to settle a little. We had a bit of breakfast and it decided to stay down. I still had pains in my stomach but at least I was getting sick.

We boarded our flight at 10:50 to find out that we were not sitting beside each other. I suppose you get used to checking in together and presume that your seats will be together. Michelle seat was directly behind mine and we both didn’t fancy sitting beside strangers for 12 hours. I approached one of the air hostesses to be greeted by an Irish accent. I explained the situation to her and she said she would do everything she could to get us seats together. She came down to us as everyone was boarding and had a chat with us about what we were doing and where we were going. As the flight was full she couldn’t get us two seats together but did get us two aisles seats beside each other. Another air hostess had given away the seat she was giving to me but the Irish lady told them that it was for me and they would need to find another seat for them. Things were looking up. I still didn’t feel well but both of us were happy with the seating arrangements. Karma started to kick in for me and as the plane started to get ready to approach the runway we were told there would be a delay as some one would not be joining us and they needed to remove his baggage. As it was a full flight and the seat beside me was empty it started to dawn on me that I could have a spare seat beside me. I crossed my fingers and soon the plane was on the runway. Knowing Michelle would rather the aisle seat than sit between two people for 12 hours I claimed the seat with my books and stuff. I knew when it came to trying to sleep the spare seat would come in very handy. Things were to get even better when the flight entertainment was put on. As we had our own screen we could watch what we wanted. My luck was in. On channel 17 was Oasis live from the electric proms. A very good concert that was recorded with a full choir. Food was soon served and I was in my element probably looking like the biggest fool on the plane with my big head phones on, bopping away and very frequently looking over at Michelle with both thumbs in the air. The choice of films was very good and Michelle got to see Slumdog Millionaire.

After the food and concert was over I decided to try and sleep out the flight. As a person who finds it hard to sleep any where other than a bed, I had got some sleeping tablets. Michelle was bringing any medical stuff in her bag so she had the tablets. NO TABLETS. None to be found at all. I had asked that morning had she got them and she said she did. I still wasn’t feeling to well and sleeping it off would have helped. I think the two of us were now happy we were in different seats! I tossed and turned but just couldn’t sleep.

A few hours into the flight this person I can only describe as an ape of a woman sat in the seat in front of Michelle that I was meant to sit in. Now I can hear you all say DARREN!! You cant call her an ape, but, yes I can. Let me tell you why. She was very broadly built. Not fat, just stocky. She jumped into the seat and actually shook the rows in front and behind her. She put her chair in to the fully reclined position and squashed poor Michelle. Michelle could barely even she her TV screen. I started to get some enjoyment out of this women. She scratched the top of her head like a monkey would, picked her nose constantly, and I swear and you can ask Michelle, she had the same flat face as a gorilla. I had even nicknamed her Silverback (a name of a type of gorilla for those who don’t know) . She wouldn’t even move for the girls on the inside to get out past her. Most people would get up and let them out. She wouldn’t even move her legs. They had to squeeze out past her. She was actually luckily it was Michelle behind her and not me as I would probably have landed her up in row one if she pushed her chair back that far on me.
Anyway, back to sleeping. Soon I started to dose off and slept for nearly 3 hours. Michelle on the other hand couldn’t sleep a wink. I was secretly thinking to myself ‘you wont forget the sleeping tablets the next time!’. Well ok, I lie. I actually said it. With an hour to go I decided to pack my books and mp3 player away. Guess what I found in my front pocket. Yes, I can hear you all say it! The SLEEPING TABLETS! Do I tell Michelle or not? Who put them in there? Did I? Did she? I was starting to feel guilty. I showed her the tablets and we both started laughing. I guess in the confusion of the morning with me being sick they ended up in my bag. Neither one of us could tell who actually put them in there. I cant remember and she cant. Probably better of without them anyway!

Just a special mention for the Irish air hostess from Wicklow. She looked after us the whole flight making sure we were ok and had everything we wanted. She told us that there were people from Kildare, Tipperary and Kerry also on the flight. I was going to ask could we have a sing song but felt it wasn’t the right place. I have always said that customer service in Ireland is the pits and it drives me bananas when you are paying some one for something that they cannot be thankful for it. This lady went out of her way to get us seats, make sure every now and again that we were ok, chat to us and tell us the does and don’ts in Rio. Its not like she went round to everyone and talked to them. She fussed over us and people could see it. It made us feel that where ever you go, that if you find a Paddy you will feel at home.


Rio
Our flight landed on time and now we had to face what we were told were the tough Brazilian customs. We were very paranoid as we were carrying 300 tea bags between us and warned that no food of any kind was allowed in and that there were heavy fines for those who did. I did want to ask the Irish air hostess but didn’t want to sound like Paddy who cant go anywhere with out his tea bags! We had been warned as well that we would need our yellow fever vaccination form and information as to when we were leaving the country. Now we had the vaccination form but not the exit information. We knew when we would be leaving, but some countries want proof. As I approached the passport control I started to feel as if I was the biggest criminal in the world. You know that feeling you get as you go through customs in an airport and even though you know your carrying nothing you feel like you have enough drugs to supply Limerick on a Saturday night (sorry Limerick!). I was greeted with a friendly smile and ‘how are you?’. She stamped my passport and said enjoy your stay. That was it. No yellow fever, no exit information. Just a friendly ‘enjoy your stay’. Next up after getting our luggage was customs. Multiply the feeling by a thousand of beforehand and you’ll know how I felt with my tea bags. God, imagine getting deported for smuggling tea bags. Not exactly rock ’n’ roll! Finally it was our turn. This was it. Our journey could be over right now. Already! I’m afraid not. ‘Hello’. ‘Welcome’. ‘Go on through’. That was it. God I felt like an idiot. Normally I wouldn’t be phased by most things but airports and customs make me so paranoid.

Outside we were greeted with the familiar chorus of Taxi, Taxi. We booked inside and prepaid which is well advised for Rio, even if it costs a little extra (€25). On board the taxi we soon realised where they got the name for the computer game ‘Need for Speed’. Lanes do not exist. It seems better to drive down the middle of the white line. We arrived in double quick time to our hostel and checked in for five nights. We got shown around and told the does and don’ts. They have a cat here which we were warned is not allowed in the rooms. If it was a dog I possibly might have let him stay with us. We stayed in a B&B before in Castlebar and the dog came up to the room with us so it would have been unusual!

Its hot and humid here. Luckily we have air conditioning but Jesus does it make noise. Our hostel is called the Mango Tree Hostel and costs about €45 per night for a double room. It’s pretty cool and in a nice part of Rio called Ipanema. We are one block from the beach and that’s what we’re going at today. Might even take a stroll down to the Copa… Copacabana!! (had to put that in some where!).

Took a walk this morning along the beach. It was hot between 35-38 degrees. We retreated quickly back to our hostel. Coming from snow to this weather needs a bit of getting used too (pity bout you, i can hear ye say!). Anyway, what’s the rush on doing things! As we walked along the beach I couldn’t get over the amount of people actually wearing white speedo’s. I have told Michelle I’m going to get a pair and take a photo for the craic but I’m so white it all might blend in. People here wear swimwear regardless of size or shape. Nothing is left to the imagination. I look like some kind of prude in my t-shirt and flowery shorts afraid to show a bit of skin! The funniest I saw was an old man in his small speedo’s with only a pair of white socks and runners on. A strange sight and not something you would see on the prom in Galway. We’ve booked a tour tomorrow for a few sights in Rio. It takes about 5 hours and costs about €25 euro each. It takes in most of the sights so it should be pretty cool. Right now were just relaxing and reading. It’s too hot for us to venture outside. We will probably go get some thing to eat soon and I’ve heard of a fruit market near by. Everyone is friendly by the way and we’ve been talking to lots already. We stand out though. We’re the whitest people here since Santa Claus visited !


In a bit. DH

Song of the blog: Mrs Robinson - Paul Simon - Unplugged

Advertisement



6th March 2009

Love the blog...so good to hear ye r there and loving it!!!!
6th March 2009

cant believe uve written up so much already..please dont buy white speedos
7th March 2009

Looking forward to following your trip
Hi Michelle and Darren Have a great trip. I am sure we can arrange to send some tea bags if you run out Darren. Auntie P. NY
7th March 2009

hi!!!!
love the blog, will keep reading! have a great trip..! your cousins..xx
7th March 2009

looks good never heard a flight described so vividly
9th March 2009

haha
Theres a cool niteclub on the strip in copacabana, the main one, ye should go there, michelle will love it!
10th March 2009

howdi!!!
Sounds like yer having a ball! Take care xxxxx Keep up the blog Dar, you're so good at it!!!

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb